This is the "Home" page of the "BYES 412 Senior Seminar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

BYES 412 Senior Seminar   Tags: biology, health_sciences  

Research strategies for locating articles to critique
Last Updated: Feb 3, 2016 URL: http://libguides.brenau.edu/BYES412 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Critique Assignments

Critique #3 assignment

 Howard, B.V. et al. Low-fat dietary pattern and weight change over 7 years: The women’s health initiative dietary modification trial. Journal of the American Medical Association 295:39-49 (4 Jan. 2006).

Strategy:

JAMA is not covered in any of the databases available through the Library, however some articles in JAMA are available full-text for free, including thisarticle. To retrieve this article, paste the full citation into Google and search it. Compare the results to the title of the article and choose the exact match. Once on JAMA, look for the full text PDF link. PDF is important because it can be relied upon to include all of the charts, tables, and images of the document. A link labeled just full-text or full-text HTML will not consistently do so.

 

Critique #4 assignment

MacDorman, M. F., et al. Infant and neonatal mortality for primary caesarean and vaginal births to women with “no indicated risk,” United States, 1998-2001 birth cohorts. Birth 33(3): 175-182 (Sept. 2006).

Strategy:

Birth is not available full-text for free on the web. As with many science / technology/ medical publications, it is available only for a price. It is however available full-text in Academic Search Complete (ASC). Log onto GALILEO. Choose the Journals A-Z tab. Search the journal title, Birth. The search will provide a link to the databases which contain the journal, in this case Academic Search Complete. It will also tell you how much full-text content is available. Click the link to ASC. Now you have two options. You can click Search Within This Publication and paste the article title into the search box after the journal information (JN "Birth: Issues in Perinatal Care" AND Infant and neonatal mortality ...) or you can open the year in the right-hand column, open the issue, and locate the article that way. The articles are arranged by page number. Potential problems with searching syntax make the latter a simpler approach.

Other helpful reading:

Bakalar, N. Voluntary C-sections result in more baby deaths. The New York Times, 5 Sept. 2006.

Strategy:

The New York Times can be located in GALILEO using the same strategy as you did with Birth, or you can obtain the article via the web by searching the Times' archives. When searching, it can be helpful to drop the "The". 

 

Critique #5 assignment

Lolle, S. J. et al. Genome-wide non-mendelian inheritance of extra-genomic information in Arabidopsis. Nature 434: 505-509 (24 March 2005).

Strategy:

Nature can be located in GALILEO using the same strategy as you did with Birth. If you prefer another database, such as Research Library, similar options of searching within the publication or opening the particular issue will be available to you.

 

Critique #6 assignment

Taylor, A. et al. Combination of isosorbide dinitrate and hydralazine in blacks with heart failure. The New England Journal of Medicine 351: 2049-2057 (11 Nov. 2004).

Strategy:

The New England Journal of Medicine can be located in GALILEO using the same strategy as you did with Birth. Note that the file in Medline with Full Text is HTML full-text with graphics. This type of file will include the charts, tables, and images.

 

Critique #7 assignment

Mehl, M. R. Are women really more talkative than men? Nature 317: 82 (6 July 2007).

Strategy:

See assignment #5. 

 
 

Critique #8 assignment

 

D’Costa, V. M., et al. Sampling the antibiotic resistome. Science 311(No. 5759):374-377 (20 Jan. 2006).

 Strategy:

 A search of GALILEO's Journals A-Z will return Science, but the particular issue you need is not included in the coverage. Turn to the web instead. As before, paste the citation into Google, match it exactly to the results, and link to the article. After you click the full-text link, you will note that "The content you requested requires free registration or a subscription to this site." Click the free registration link and create your registration. Record your user name and password for future use. Signing in will take you to the content. 

 

Critique #9 assignment

Williamson, S. et al. Locating recent adaptive evolution in the human genome. PLoS Genetics (1 June 2007).

"PLoS is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a freely available public resource." Therefore, this publication can be searched via Google or via GALILEO... your choice.

 

Critique #10 assignment

Crews, D. et al. Transgenerational epigenetic imprints on mate preference. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 104: 5942-5946 (3 April 2007).

Strategy:

The Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences are available on the web; search the citation using Google.

 

Critique #11 assignment

Ravdin, P. M. The decrease in breast-cancer incidence in 2003 in the United States. The New England Journal of Medicine 356:1670-1674 (19 April 2007)

Strategy:

See assignment #6

 

Critique #12 assignment

Oudhoff, M. J. et al. Histatins are the major wound-closure stimulating factors in human saliva as identified in a cell culture assay. FASEB Journal 22:3805-3812 (23 July 2008).

Ravdin, P. M. The decrease in breast-cancer incidence in 2003 in the United States. The New England Journal of Medicine 356:1670-1674 (19 April 2007).

 Bustamante,C. et al.  Natural selection on protein-coding genes in the human genome. Nature 437, 1153-1157 (2005).

Strategy:

See assignment #5.

Other reading:

Balter, M.. Are Humans Still Evolving? Science 309:234-237 (8 July 2005).

Balter, M. Are Human Brains Still Evolving?  Brain Genes Show Signs of Selection.  Science 309, 1662-1663.

Strategy:

These articles are available from the Science website, but you may be required to purchase access.

Ruvinsky, J. Evolution of Human Brain Hasn't Ceased.  Discover 27(1), 55 (Jan 2006).

 Strategy:

Discover is available both through Academic Search Complete or via the web.

Strategy:

Other helpful reading:

Adler, J. What’s race got to do with it? Newsweek, p. 16, 12 Jan. 2009. 

See assignment #4 and The New York Times.

Other helpful reading:

Mandavilli, A. Plants mend their own faulty DNA. Discover 27(1): 63 (Jan. 2006).

Strategy:

See assignment #9

Pennisi, E. Pollen contamination may explain controversial inheritance. Science 313: 1864 (29 Sept. 2006

Strategy:

See assignment #9

 

 

Let Us Help You!

 

Need a hand? 
Your librarians are here to help!

 

Research Instruction

To evaluate the instruction you've received from the Library Faculty, please go to our survey.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip