This is the "Cultural Psychology" page of the "Cultural Psychology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Cultural Psychology  

Last Updated: Mar 15, 2017 URL: http://libguides.brenau.edu/CulturalPsychology Print Guide RSS Updates
Cultural Psychology Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Information on Your Countries

  • CultureGrams World Edition  
      
      Icon
    CultureGrams provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. The reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available. World Edition-Cultural reports for more than 200 countries. Each include 25 categories such as Land and Climate, History, Personal Appearance, Greetings, Dating and Marriage, Family, Diet, Housing, Holidays, Economy, Education, Health, and more.
  • BBC Country Profiles  Icon
    The BBC is the world's leading public service broadcaster. Its mission is to enrich people's lives with programs that inform, educate and entertain. BBC World Service broadcasts to the world on radio, on TV and online, providing news and information in 27 languages and world service English language. Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

    Select a country, territory or international organization from the menus.
  • CIA World Factbook  Icon
    The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, marshals facts on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world. It is used by a wide variety of people including US Government officials, researchers, and corporations. The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. In addition to information on government, the economy, and communications, the Factbook provides extensive demographic information.
  • Country Insights | Centre for Intercultural Learning  Icon
    In addition to country information, cultural information including conversations, communication styles; display of emotion; dress, punctuality & formality; preferred managerial qualities; hierarchy and decision-making; religion, class, ethnicity, & gender; relationship-building; privileges and favouritism; conflicts in the workplace; motivating local colleagues; recommended books, films & foods; in-country activities; national heroes; and stereotypes.

    Select a country using the drop-down menu.
  • Country Profiles - Global Guide to Culture, Customs and Etiquette  Icon
    Much of what we do at Commisceo Global Consultancy is designing training courses for business and organizations worldwide, in all languages, across sectors. What we believe is unhealthy is the type of cultural awareness education that is simmered down to knowing dos and don'ts or learning a list of bullet points on how to negotiate. This is just information. This is skin deep and in fact, we argue, it’s counterproductive as it reinforces stereotypes about a people and closes doors to alternative levels of understanding and more importantly ways of thinking. We take a different route. We emphasize self-critique, skills based cultural understanding and experiential learning. Our focus is more on creating ‘global mindedness’.

    Scroll down the page and choose a country.

Primary Databases

  • Child Development and Adolescent Studies  
      
      Icon
    Health and Science
    Education
  • PsycARTICLES  
      
      Icon
    from the American Psychological Association (APA), includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 137,000 articles from 66 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations.
  • Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection  
      
      Icon
    articles from 410 full-text journal covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
  • PsycINFO  
      
      Icon
    American Psychological Association's (APA) resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 2.5 million citations and summaries, and ninety-eight percent of the covered material is peer-reviewed. The database also includes information about the psychological aspects of related fields such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, and others.
  • Public Health Database  
      
      Icon
    Health and Science
  • Sage Journals Premier  
      
      Icon
    Multidisciplinary

    View the Video Tutorial for help
  • ScienceDirect  
      
      Icon
    Business and Mass Communication
    Health and Science

    View the Video Tutorials for help
  • Social Science Journals By ProQuest  
      
      Icon
    a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text.
  • Violence and Abuse Abstracts  
      
      Icon
    Health and Science

Additional Databases

  • Academic Search Complete  
      
      Icon
    is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
  • Alt HealthWatch  
      
      Icon
    focuses on multiple perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Full-text content comes from more than 180 international peer-reviewed and professional journals, magazines, reports, proceedings, and association and consumer newsletters, plus hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research, and book excerpts.
  • Sociological Collection  
      
      Icon
    Health and Science
    Business and Mass Communication
 

American Culture

Cover Art
American Cultural Baggage - Stan Nussbaum
Call Number: MAIN E169.1 .N8155 2005
ISBN: 9781570756252
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
American Cultural Baggage helps non-Americans better understand how Americans "tick" while showing Americans how the actions and attitudes they take for granted can be taken very differently in the rest of the world.

 

Cite Your Sources

Information has value. Respect the original ideas of others; give credit to others through proper attribution and citation.

Cite CultureGrams:

Argentina (Argentine Republic). (2015). In CultureGrams world edition. Retrieved from http://www.culturegrams.com/

Cite the CIA World Factbook:

Central Intelligence Agency. (2016). Brazil. In The world factbook. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/br.html

Cite a web site:

Global Affairs Canada. (2011). Overview – Brazil. Retrieved from https://www.international.gc.ca/cil-cai/country_insights-apercus_pays/overview-apercu_br.aspx?lang=eng

 

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Linda Kern
Contact Info
(770) 534-6113 or
(800) 252-5119, x6113
625 Academy Street
Gainesville, Georgia 30506
Send Email
Online Help:
Ask A Librarian
Library Website:
Brenau Trustee Library
 

Let Us Help You!

 

Need a hand? 
Your librarians are here to help!

 

We've Got Answers

 

Tell Us What You Think!

What do you think of the information on this page? Was it:





Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip