LibGuides: Gerontology: Articles

Articles on Gerontology and Aging

The databases below all include articles about gerontology among many other topics. Each database covers a different academic perspective, including sociology, public health, psychology, etc.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers biological sciences, social sciences, business. Includes Population Studies, Statistics, Communicable Diseases, Allergology and Immunology, Biology - Genetics, Physical Fitness and Hygiene, Drug Abuse and Alcoholism, Environmental Studies

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

The databases below focus on medical information. They are good resources for articles about the health aspects of aging.

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness, this database offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, and book excerpts.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews, Clinical Answers, & Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library provides a collection of 6 databases that contain different types evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a 7th database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Cochrane Library includes over 1 million records of controlled trials, over 30,000 records of abstract and reviews of effect, and over 16,000 records of health technology assessments.
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

The databases below are general-purpose and multidisciplinary. They include some articles related to gerontology.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles.

Journals Specifically About Gerontology

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a resource when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text, View eBook, or View Now button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a book when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View eBook button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate a video when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Now button.

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subjects.