LibGuides: Interior Design: Health and Wellness Design

Journals and Trade Publications

In addition to these publications specifically about healthcare, see the journals on the Commercial Design tab.

Contract - Healthcare Design Issue
Healthcare Design
Presents information to those responsible for designing, building and renovating healthcare facilities.
Healthcare Design - digital companion
Presents information to those responsible for designing, building and renovating healthcare facilities.
HERD: Health Environments Research & Design Journal
Interprofessional, peer-reviewed journal featuring research and methodology papers, theory articles, case studies, and book reviews focused on the effects of health environments and design on patient, provider, and organizational outcomes.
Interior Design
Serves the interior design, architectural and facility management audiences. The essential design authority for every professional, on all projects, throughout the design process. Interior Design’s digital companion, interiordesign.net, is the go-to site for relevant and real-time content for the industry's largest and most engaged design audience.
Interior Design - digital companion
Serves the interior design, architectural and facility management audiences. The essential design authority for every professional, on all projects, throughout the design process. Interior Design’s digital companion, interiordesign.net, is the go-to site for relevant and real-time content for the industry's largest and most engaged design audience.

Health Care Articles

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

The Trustee Library provides access to many different collections of articles and is an excellent tool for academic research. Some of the best collections of healthcare articles, including some on design, are listed and linked below.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Includes Architectural Digest, Architectural Record, Art History, Arts Education Policy Review, Grey Room, Housing, Theory, and Society, International Journal of Art and Design Education, Greener Management International, Home Cultures, Local Environment, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Design for Arts in Education, Journal of Art and Design Education, and Sustainable Development Law & Policy.
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness, this database offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, and book excerpts.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Includes Architectural Record.View the MEDLINE Fact Sheet for additional information.
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MedlinePlus - at National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
National Library of Medicine Databases & Resources This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to some full-text content from PubMed Central and the Brenau Trustee Library.

Organizations and Associations

The Center for Health Design
Evidence Based Building Design for Healthcare - a "nonprofit research, education, and advocacy organization of forward-thinking healthcare, elder care, design, andn construction professionals who are leading the quest to improve the quality of healthcare facilities and create new environments for healthy aging."
AAHID: American Academy of Healthcare Interior Designers
"the certification board of choice in assessing and qualifying the knowledge, skills and abilities of healthcare interior designers."
Facility Guidelines Institute FGI
Resource for design and construction of healthcare facilities

Other Outstanding Sources

Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 820 leading full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, Science & Technology Collection™ offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,750 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Psychology Sources

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Suggested Search Terms

"time spa" AND design

spa AND design

wellness AND "interior design"

"health resorts"

"health facility environment"

"health care design"

"health promotion"

"health facilities"

Subject Guide

Emily Thornton

Email Me

Contact:

Norcross Campus, Room 448
OR
Gainesville Campus, Trustee Library

(770) 531-3165