This guide is a customized collection of materials specifically chosen to help you in your business ethics research.
Law
"An act to protect investors by improving the accuracy and reliability of corporate disclosures made pursuant to the securities laws, and for other purposes."
This legislation, enacted in response to a series of corporate financial scandals, helps protect against fraud and maintains a standard of ethics and corporate responsibility.
View the original text of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 Here.
When searching a database, use synonyms and try different combinations of search terms for better results.
"corporate social responsibility" AND pollution
"business ethics" AND pollution
"business ethics" AND environment
"sustainable development" AND "business ethics"
"From the local to the global, C2ES is teaming up with policymakers, businesses, and other stakeholders to meet our critical climate and energy challenges."
"Our mission is to provide clear, concise, accurate, and balanced information, resources, and learning opportunities to help companies of all sizes and sectors integrate environmental responsibility into their operations in a manner that supports profitable business practices."
"The UN Global Compact’s three principles are (1) Business should support a precautionary approach to environmental challenges; (2) Undertake initiatives to promote greater environmental responsibility; and (3) Encourage the development and diffusion of environmentally friendly technologies."
"The aim of Globethics.net is to ensure that people in all regions of the world are empowered to reflect and act on ethical issues. In order to ensure access to knowledge resources in applied ethics, Globethics.net has developed its Globethics.net Library, the leading global digital library on ethics."
The ILO is the international organization responsible for drawing up and overseeing international labour standards.
"The UN Global Compact’s three principles are (1) Business should support a precautionary approach to environmental challenges; (2) Undertake initiatives to promote greater environmental responsibility; and (3) Encourage the development and diffusion of environmentally friendly technologies."
The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables and reports. Each of the listings includes a description of the data set and a direct link to that set. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search.
A one-stop guide to business environment indicators, laws, and World Bank Group project information for 183 countries.
Rating of countries against a set of 16 criteria grouped in four clusters: economic management, structural policies, policies for social inclusion and equity, and public sector management and institutions.
Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies. Each economy is ranked according to 10 sets of indicators. These are combined into an overall "ease of doing business" ranking.
Provides firm-level data from over 120,000 establishments in 125 countries. Data are used to create over 100 indicators that benchmark the quality of the business environment across the globe.
"GenderStats is a compilation of data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys."
Hosts newly collected, freely available, and detailed data on more than thirty different national governments’ use of policies such as antidumping, global safeguards, China-specific transitional safeguard measures, and countervailing duties.
The World Bank Group provides you with access to the Datasets free of charge subject to the terms of this agreement (these “Dataset Terms”).
This publication from Boston College's Center for Corporate Citizenship, "How to Read a Corporate Social Responsibility Report: A User's Guide", is intended to help those approaching corporate social responsibility (CSR) reporting for the first time. CSR reports can be confusing to readers, in part because of their length and the volume and variety of information included, and in part because it is often difficult to distinguish the information they contain that is valuable from what is not.
CorporateRegister.com is the primary reference point for corporate responsibility (CR) reports and resources worldwide. The majority of content is available free of charge as a service to the global CR stakeholder community, and is made available by signing up for a free online account.
Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire Reports feature and link to recently published, non-financial Corporate Social Responsibility and Sustainability reports. The CSR Reports page also lists any press releases associated with the publication of a given report.
Websites
"Business & Human Rights Resource Centre has become the world’s leading independent resource on the subject. Our website is updated hourly with news and reports about companies’ human rights impacts worldwide – positive and negative."
The Corporate Research Project is a non-profit center that assists community, environmental and labor organizations in researching and analyzing companies and industries.
CSRwire is the leading global source of corporate social responsibility (CSR) and sustainability news. Founded in 1999 to advance the movement towards a more economically-just and environmentally-sustainable society and away from single bottom line capitalism, CSRwire has paved the way for new standards of corporate citizenship, earning the international respect of thought leaders, business leaders, academics, philanthropists, activists and the media community. Through innovative techniques and strategic partnerships, CSRwire continues to expand its content, communication technology and distribution channels exponentially.
Corporate Watch is an independent, not-for-profit research and publishing group that undertakes research on the social and environmental impact of large corporations, particularly multinationals.
"Our guiding vision is to promote human, environmental, social and worker rights at the local, national and global levels by making corporate practices more transparent and holding corporations accountable for their actions."
The Dow Jones Sustainability Indexes serve as benchmarks for investors who integrate sustainability considerations into their portfolios, and provide an effective engagement platform for companies who want to adopt sustainable best practices.
Eldis aims to share the best in development, policy, practice and research.
"The research-based Ethisphere® Institute is a leading international think-tank dedicated to the creation, advancement and sharing of best practices in business ethics, corporate social responsibility, anti-corruption and sustainability. Ethisphere Magazine, which publishes the globally recognized World’s Most Ethical Companies Ranking™, is the quarterly publication of the Institute."
A longitudinal, cross-sectional study of employee perspectives of workplace conduct. Now combined with the former National Business Ethics Survey
How can you tell if you've found a reliable or scholarly source? Check out this short video to make sure you've got the right material!