For college administrators, diversity trainers, study abroad educators, HR directors, and corporate trainers, this book provides a cutting-edge framework and an innovative collection of ready-to- use tools and activities to help build cultural competence-from the basics of understanding core concepts of culture to the complex work of negotiating identity and resolving cultural differences. Building Cultural Competence presents the latest work in the intercultural field and provides step-by-step instructions for how to effectively work with the new models, frameworks, and exercises for building.
Tools for Teaching in an Educationally Mobile World examines the challenges that undergraduate and postgraduate teachers often encounter when working with students from different national and cultural backgrounds. It focuses on the consequences for interactive teaching and for course design in a world where students, ideas and courses are mobile, using examples and experiences from a wide range of disciplines and national contexts. It not only considers Anglophone countries, including the USA, Canada, the UK, Australia and New Zealand, but also the use of English as a language of instruction in countries where neither teachers nor students are native English speakers
This paper explores a grounded research-based framework for intercultural competence and discusses the implications of interculturally competent teaching in the classroom and beyond. Given the importance of teachers being interculturally competent in today’s diverse classrooms, a number of questions, based on the framework, are presented, which guide teachers in reflecting upon their own teaching practice and the ways in which they integrate aspects of intercultural competence into their classrooms. The paper also provides some examples from the USA of ways in which intercultural competence development is being addressed in teacher training.
Today’s classrooms require that instructors possess competencies for teaching all students. Robust instructional strategies and culturally sensitive curricula are critical, but more important is an instructor who is sensitive and responsive to the unique differences of each student. Recognizing the need to strengthen specific competencies to reach and teach all students requires an understanding of new ideas and a willingness to view instruction through varied cultural lenses.
This volume breaks new ground in connecting theory and practice in internationalizing the curriculum in different disciplinary and institutional contexts. An extensive literature review, case studies and action research projects provide valuable insights into the concept of internationalization of the curriculum. Best practice in curriculum design, teaching and learning in higher education are applied specifically to the process of internationalizing the curriculum. Examples from different disciplines and a range of practical resources and ideas are provided. Internationalizing the Curriculum provides invaluable guidance to university managers, academic staff, professional development lecturers and support staff as well as students and scholars interested in advancing theory and practice in this important area.
What are intercultural competencies? Why do they matter so much today – and why will they matter even more tomorrow? In that spirit, the content and the structure of this publication is to provide everyone with a pool of ideas and keys that can be reflexively used. The flexible organization of the booklet allows the reader to espouse constellations of concepts and guidelines, the ultimate coherence and relevance of which is to be found in their context of meaningful application.
This wide-ranging survey of issues in intercultural language teaching and learning covers everything from core concepts to program evaluation, and advocates a fluid, responsive approach to teaching language that reflects its central role in fostering intercultural understanding.
This article reviews and summarizes the literature on intercultural competence and intercultural communicative competence in order to better understand how these notions can impact the cultural component of a foreign language curriculum. Building on various models of intercultural communicative competence, examples of cultural tasks that promote intercultural communicative competence and represent best practices in language teaching and learning are presented and illustrated for classroom integration.
Although Intercultural Communicative Competence (ICC) has become a key objective in foreign language (FL) education, curricula offer little in how language teachers can promote ICC through language instruction. This book responds to the challenge of how intercultural language learning can be accounted for more profoundly in FL teaching. By means of innovative intercultural assessments, the author investigates the development of three language competences central to ICC in relation to learning opportunities as experienced by German learners of English. Audiovisual media were found to be a major input factor in the development of intercultural language abilities. The book ends with a discussion of how audiovisual media can be implemented in secondary and tertiary FL and teacher education.
This book comprehensively analyzes the development of interculturally blended third spaces by the second language learner, beginning with the linguistic and sociocultural imprints of the first language and culture on the mind and culminating in a phase-model of the development of intercultural competence. The focus of the book is on the gradual development of interculturally blended third spaces in the mind of the learner as genuinely new bases for construction.
Designed for Pharmacy students, these well-described activities are easily adaptable for other curricula. •Teaching cultural sensitivity can be incorporated into your existing curriculum through various active learning strategies •Review your current teaching material to discover opportunities for the integration of cultural competency •There is no need to create something completely new to expose students to these valuable concepts
Descriptions of innovative, award-winning programs in the use of technology to enhance the international learning of undergraduates at U.S. colleges and universities. Winners include large institutions such as Purdue and OSU as well as smaller institutions such as Davidson and Wagner Colleges.
Research on teamwork in professional contexts illuminates the issues that arise for students as well. Challenges often arise from sources other than differences of language or classroom experience; they can come from different views of organizations, hierarchy, decision-making, and -- perhaps most important -- expressing agreement or disagreement.
The workshop includes 7 activities about class, race, and implicit privilege. At the end of this workshop, participants will be able to: 1) Develop a sense of self-awareness and an understanding of privilege 2) Gain a better understanding of how people experience discrimination or prejudice and how these experiences affect their daily lives
By the end of this session, participants will be able to: • Establish a common definition of culture. • Understand why culture is important. • Help participants understand what cultural competence is and is not. • Understand how culture affects health.
This Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange (CIRRIE) project focuses on the provision of pre-service training and education for students in university rehabilitation programs, by developing teaching materials specific to speech-language therapy, occupational therapy, physical therapy and rehabilitation counseling. CIRRIE has piloted these curricula at the University at Buffalo to test their effectiveness. Based on the results, adjustments were made to the program modules and subsequently they are now being disseminated to university programs nationally.
Three instruction methods - Cultural Competence Reflection; The Paseo; Zones of Safety, Risk, and Danger; Paideia Seminar - are described to encourage constructive dialog and discussion. Individual steps and suggested questions are included.
From the University of Kansas Work Group for Community Health and Development, this toolkit aids in assessing and enhancing cultural competence in your organization or community effort. It includes Define Your Vision and Goals for Cultural Competence, Conduct a Cultural Audit, Build a Culturally Competent Organization, Build a Culturally Inclusive Community, Related Resources, and Examples.
Wondering how to engage students of vastly different economic, social, racial, and cultural backgrounds in the classroom? Interested in becoming more skilled at communicating across cultures? This collaborative webpage offers activity ideas and resources to develop intercultural competence
• Why Intercultural Competence • Definitions of Culture • Diving deeper into culture • Tips for administrators, staff, and faculty • Tips for teachers in the classroom • Continued learning and resources - Click the link to get to the activities
The incidents outlined in this scenario relate to all the different aspects of cultural awareness, from national culture through corporate culture to personal and professional. The original spark for this was the ‘naming the teddy bear' incident in Sudan, when schoolteacher Gillian Gibbons became embroiled in an international incident when she allowed her pupils to name a teddy bear ‘Mohammad', unaware of the offense that this was likely to cause in a Muslim country. However, our research with employers and graduates has shown that cultural awareness or cultural sensitivity is crucial to most, if not all, graduate employment. To help students in higher education to recognize and reflect on different aspects of 'culture' we have created low-tech easily used games and exercises to be played by groups of students in the classroom. To help you plan your delivery you can download download teaching notes based on our pilot lessons.
One challenge that instructors face is how to design a course so the material engages students' prior knowledge and their skills, whether the intent is to build on that knowledge, to interrogate it, or to situate new ways of thinking. When students bring diverse backgrounds, course design is particularly challenging. On the other hand, attending to student differences provides valuable clarity for both students and instructors; and drawing on student differences multiplies the teaching and learning exchange in a class.
The ACE/AT&T Award: Technology as a Tool for Internationalization
The ACE/AT&T Award recognizes the innovative use of technology to infuse an international dimension into the curriculum and to promote international learning. These awards target uses of technology that facilitate personal interaction between U.S. students and students, scholars, and citizens of other countries and cultures. The awards also provide examples and ideas that other institutions can adapt for their own use.
From the American Association of Colleges of Nursing, the purpose of the Cultural Competency Tool Kit is to provide resources and exemplars and to facilitate implementation of cultural competencies in baccalaureate nursing education. The Tool Kit identifies significant content, teaching-learning activities, and resources that will help faculty integrate cultural competency in nursing curriculum.
The AACU rubric, listed first below, is a framework to think about the knowledge, skills and perceptions or attitudes that are changed through international experience. The next four tools are survey instruments to measure specific knowledge, perceptions, and skills. These latter vary in what they target, although all involve self-report.
This material was developed to support and enhance a student’s ability to make successful cultural adjustments both before going overseas and upon returning home from studying abroad. It was produced primarily for traditional-aged, undergraduate US-American university students. Those preparing to participate in a study abroad program will find the first seven sections useful while those who are about to, or have, returned home from an international program can refer to the final four sections. The focus is generally on the concept of culture and how it impacts one’s ability to understand and function in a new and unfamiliar environment. It concentrates on the skills, attitudes, and behaviors which all study abroad students, regardless of their specific destination, will find useful.