LibGuides: Physician Assistant: Research &amp; Evidence (EBM)

Librarian

Emily Thornton

Email Me

Contact:

Norcross Campus, Room 448
OR
Gainesville Campus, Trustee Library

(770) 531-3165

Duke EBP Tutorial

Need Full Text?

Can't find the full text?

ASK US!

Request an article or book .

You can also Ask a Librarian about visiting one of our partner libraries.

Tips on Searching and Reading Research

Peer Reviewed EBM Articles

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence meeting eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers use explicit, systematic methods selected to minimize bias and produce reliable findings to inform decision-making.
Health and Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical and biomedical topics, including anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, microbiology, immunology, parasitology, pathology, communicable diseases, and cardiovascular diseases.

Part of the Database Offerings from GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers biological sciences, social sciences, business. Includes Population Studies, Statistics, Communicable Diseases, Allergology and Immunology, Biology - Genetics, Physical Fitness and Hygiene, Drug Abuse and Alcoholism, Environmental Studies

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to some full-text content from PubMed Central and the Brenau Trustee Library.
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

Physician Assistant Core Journals

Journal of Physician Assistant Education Full Text coverage: 1999 (vol. 10, no. 1) - present
Journal of the American Academy of Physician Assistants Full text coverage: 2005 (vol. 18, no. 1) - present

Medical Journals

Advances in Biosciences & Clinical Medicine Full text coverage: 2013 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology Full Text: January 1995-present
British Medical Journal, International Edition All BMJ research articles are openly accessible online. All non-research articles published between 1840 and 2006 are also available free, but they do require registration.
Clinician Reviews Full Text:10/01/2006 to present
Evidence-Based Medicine Full text coverage: Dec 1995 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present (delayed 3 months)
Journal of Family Practice Full Text: 01/01/2004 to present
Maedica - a Journal of Clinical Medicine Full Text: 03/01/2007 to present
The New England Journal of Medicine Full text coverage: Jan 3, 1980 (Vol. 302, no. 1) - present (delayed 3 months)
Wound Medicine Full Text: July 2013-present
Annals of internal medicine Full Text: 10/01/1965 to present

Behavioral Medicine

Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window Search "behavioral medicine" AND your topic
Covers topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications including clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsychiatryOnline.org This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline (POL) creates a one-stop resource for information on diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, the latest research, and breaking news from the field. From a single location, you can access all APA journals, Psychiatric News, the DSM Library, and bestselling textbooks, as well as APA Practice Guidelines, and continuing medical education.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Bibliography to all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language
Psychotherapy.net This link opens in a new window
Psychotherapy.net provides access to training videos featuring master psychotherapists in action, hand-picked by your Brenau faculty.

Google Scholar

The Scholar link below provides access to full text that the Library has paid for. To set up your personal Google Scholar interface to search Brenau databases every time without coming here first, navigate to https://scholar.google.com/ . Click the 3 horizontal lines at top-left, then Settings, then Library Links, and search for Brenau.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles.

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a resource when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text, View eBook, or View Now button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a book when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View eBook button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate a video when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Now button.

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subjects.

AccessMedicine

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource providing leading medical textbooks, videos, and review tools facilitating point-of-care decision-making.

Available to students and faculty in the Physician Assistant program