LibGuides: Graduate Nursing Research: Evidence Based Practice

Featured Database

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical information resource that provides evidence-based information at the point of care.

DynaMed provides evidence-based treatment recommendations with links to evidence and varying levels of recommendation strength. It also features patient education materials, physician expert review, practice-changing updates, and a mobile app.

DynaMed Mobile download
The DynaMed app is free for students and is compatible with iOS and Android devices.

PROCESS:
First, go to the full version of DynaMed from this link: https://www.galileo.usg.edu/redirect?inst=bre1&url=https://www.dynamed.com . Use a computer for this, not your phone. This link will go through the Brenau login process, which lets you show DynaMed that you're a legit Brenau user.
Once you're in the full version of DynaMed, create an account. Once you've done that, you should be able to authenticate from inside the phone app.
DynaMed 2-Minute Overview Video
In a hurry? Start here.
DynaMed Tutorial Videos
Following a Topic, Claiming CME Credits and Hours, Creating a Personal Account

Best Bets

MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,200 journals are also included. Full text material includes 72 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, 300 evidence-based care sheets, and clinical trials.
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews, Clinical Answers, & Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. Of particular interest are the Cochrane Reviews, systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy. They investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation. They also assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting.
Cochrane Library provides a collection of 6 databases that contain different types evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a 7th database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Cochrane Library includes over 1 million records of controlled trials, over 30,000 records of abstract and reviews of effect, and over 16,000 records of health technology assessments.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to some full-text content from PubMed Central and the Brenau Trustee Library.
AHRQ Evidence-Based Practice This link opens in a new window
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of health care in the United States. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical information resource that provides evidence-based information at the point of care.

Journals

Direct links to a few of the essential journals for evidence based practice. For more comprehensive information, search the databases above.

Additional Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness, this database offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, and book excerpts.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
BioMed Central: The Open Access Publisher This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central has successfully published over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine, and Health. BioMed is devoted to making scientific research freely accessible and discoverable through partnerships, innovation and collaboration with the scientific community.
ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new window
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles.
National Library of Medicine Databases & Resources This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
PDQ® - NCI's Comprehensive Cancer Database This link opens in a new window
Information on cancers, treatments, and research, including PDQ Cancer Information Summaries.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Merck Manual, Professional Version This link opens in a new window
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

Part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library.

Virginia Henderson International Nursing Library
is a database maintained by Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI), the nursing honor society. Users will want to visit the Registry of Nursing Research, a database of abstracts to grey literature comprising descriptions of conference presentations and ongoing/unpublished research studies

Theses and Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts By ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses — Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Georgia State University Electronic Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Georgia State's Electronic Theses and Dissertations database is a collection of original work by students of Georgia State University in partial fulfillment of the requirements for graduate degrees.

Part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library.
Georgia Tech Theses and Dissertations - available through SMARTech This link opens in a new window
Georgia Tech Theses and Dissertations is a collection of original work by students of the Georgia Institute of Technology in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Doctor of Philosophy or Master of Science degrees.

Part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library.
NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
Full-text theses and dissertations from numerous universities
University of Georgia Electronic Theses and Dissertations This link opens in a new window
University of Georgia Electronic Theses and Dissertations is a collection of the theses and dissertations submitted electronically to the Graduate School at the University of Georgia since the summer of 1999.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

College of Nursing UMass Dissertations

Graduate Nursing Research

Subject Guide

Guidelines

Online Help

Epocrates Rx

Need an Article

Featured Database

Best Bets

Journals

Additional Databases

Theses and Dissertations