LibGuides: Graduate Nursing Research: Healthcare & Public Policy

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly database is an excellent resource for Nursing Management Information.
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
BioMed Central: The Open Access Publisher This link opens in a new window Search for open access BioMed articles. All research articles in BioMed Central's journals receive rapid and thorough peer review. BioMed Central is committed to showing that open access provides a viable alternative that better fits the needs of the scientific community.
BioMed Central has successfully published over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine, and Health. BioMed is devoted to making scientific research freely accessible and discoverable through partnerships, innovation and collaboration with the scientific community.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,200 journals are also included. Full text material includes 72 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, 300 evidence-based care sheets, and clinical trials.
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window provides over 500 scholarly full-text journals focusing on nursing, allied health fields, and many medical disciplines. Patient education sheets from the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide are also included.
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window offers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for over 1,300 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, most have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE.View the MEDLINE Fact Sheet for additional information.
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
National Library of Medicine Databases & Resources This link opens in a new window allows users to search simultaneously in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). Some of the resources included are MedlinePlus, MEDLINE/PubMed, TOXLINE, NLM, etc.
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window ScienceDirect is home to almost one-quarter of the world's peer-reviewed full-text scientific, technical and medical content. It is a trusted source of nearly 2,500 journals and more than 26,000 book titles. ScienceDirect supports research and education with interactive elements in articles such as audio, video, graphs, tables and images, and offers tools so users can keep current with research trends. Content on ScienceDirect also features embedded links to external datasets.
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

Journals

Direct links to a few of the essential journals in health care policy. For more comprehensive information, search the databases above.

Ethics - Agencies & Organizations

Office for Human Research Protections
...provides leadership in the protection of the rights, welfare, and wellbeing of subjects involved in research conducted or supported by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS). OHRP helps ensure this by providing clarification and guidance, developing educational programs and materials, maintaining regulatory oversight, and providing advice on ethical and regulatory issues in biomedical and behavioral research.

Ethics - Websites

Public Policy Agencies

Agency for Health Research and Quality-(AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As 1 of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports research that helps people make more informed decisions and improves the quality of health care services. AHRQ was formerly known as the Agency for Health Care Policy and Research.
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention-(CDC)
The CDC's mission is collaborating with partners throughout the nation and the world to create the expertise, information, and tools that people and communities need to protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats.
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services- (CMS)
The CMS Mission is to ensure effective, up-to-date health care coverage and to promote quality care for beneficiaries. The CMS Vision is to achieve a transformed and modernized health care system. CMS will accomplish its mission by continuing to transform and modernize America's health care system.
The Department of Health and Human Services- (HHS)
The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government’s principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves.
Department of Labor-(DOL)
The mission of the Department of Labor (DOL) is to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights.
Department of Veterans' Affairs (VA)
VA provides a wide range of benefits including, Disability, Education and Training, Vocational Rehabilitation and Employment, Home Loan Guaranty, Dependant and Survivor Benefits, Medical Treatment, Life Insurance and Burial Benefits.
Drug Enforcement Agency-(DEA)
The mission of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States; and to recommend and support non-enforcement programs aimed at reducing the availability of illicit controlled substances on the domestic and international markets.
Food and Drug Administration-(FDA)
The FDA is responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, efficacy, and security of human and veterinary drugs, biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, and products that emit radiation.
The Health Resources and Services Administration-(HRSA)
The Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), an agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the primary Federal agency for improving access to health care services for people who are uninsured, isolated or medically vulnerable.
The National Institute of Nursing Research-(NINR)
The National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) is dedicated to improving the health and health care of Americans through the funding of nursing research and research training.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration-(OSHA)
The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) ensures safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance.
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Administration-(SAMHSA)
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's (SAMHSA) mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities.
WHO | Global Health Observatory (GHO)
The Global Health Observatory (GHO) is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information.
WHO | Sustainable Development Goals
Sustainable development is a broad term to describe policies, projects and investments that provide benefits today without sacrificing environmental, social and personal health in the future. These policies are often described as green because they focus on limiting the impact of development on the environment. However, the benefits of sustainable development are also felt across a wide cross section of human health and well-being, including reductions in pollution- and environment-related disease, improved health outcomes and decreased stress.
WHO | Social determinants of health
The social determinants of health are the conditions in which people are born, grow, live, work and age, including the health system. These circumstances are shaped by the distribution of money, power and resources at global, national and local levels, which are themselves influenced by policy choices. The social determinants of health are mostly responsible for health inequities - the unfair and avoidable differences in health status seen within and between countries.

Statistics

CMS Research and Statistics
DataFerrett
U.S. State Health Policy, Public Opinion & Research - Kaiser Family Foundation
WHO | Health Workforce
Georgia Division of Public Health OASIS
Create tables, maps, or charts from the heath data repository of the Georgia Department of Public Health. A wide range of data is available: community needs assessments, hospital visits, morbidity/mortality reports, maternal/infant/child reports, population data, behavioral surveys, and more.

Online Help

CINAHL / MeSH Headings
This video will help you to discover the right search terms to get the most focused and relevant results when searching CINAHL.
CINAHL Advanced Searching Techniques
CINAHL Support Center
CINAHL tutorials and help

Graduate Nursing Research

Subject Guide

Need an Article

Databases

Journals

Ethics - Agencies & Organizations

Ethics - Websites

Public Policy Agencies

Statistics

Online Help