Fashion on the Ration by 
Liberated Threads by 
Dress Casual by 
Nazi 'Chic'? by 
Advertising Menswear by
In what was a golden age of British advertising, the notion of the'peacock male'was a strong theme in fashion promotion, reflecting a new affluence and the emergence of stylish youth cultures. Based on a detailed study of rich archival material, this pioneering study examines the production, circulation and consumption of print, television and cinema publicity for men's clothing in Britain during the second half of the twentieth century.
Beyond the Frame by
Beyond the Frame explores the importance of visual images in the identities and material conditions of women of color as they relate to social power, oppression, and resistance. The goal of the collection is to rethink the category of visual theory through women of color.
Body Dressing by
"Exploring gender, photography, cultural history and modernity, this book deals with a vast range of questions inherent in dressing up the body. From fashion photography in the 1960s to contemporary queer fashion and the history of the masquerade, this is a fascinating and far reaching collection. Its breadth and depth make it essential reading for anyone interested in style, costume, the body, gender or history."--Jacket.
Fashion Game Changers by
Fashion Game Changers traces radical innovations in Western fashion design from the beginning of the 20th century to the present.
Beyond the Frame by
Beyond the Frame explores the importance of visual images in the identities and material conditions of women of color as they relate to social power, oppression, and resistance. The goal of the collection is to rethink the category of visual theory through women of color.
The Birth of Cool by
t is broadly recognized that black style had a clear and profound influence on the history of dress in the twentieth century, with black culture and fashion having long been defined as 'cool'. Yet despite this high profile, in-depth explorations of the culture and history of style and dress in the African diaspora are a relatively recent area of inquiry.
'Don We Now Our Gay Apparel by
Beginning with a look at the subcultural world of gay men in the early part of the 20th century, this work analyzes the trends in dress adopted by gay men as well as the challenge gay style has made to mainstream men's fashion.
Body Dressing by
"Exploring gender, photography, cultural history and modernity, this book deals with a vast range of questions inherent in dressing up the body. From fashion photography in the 1960s to contemporary queer fashion and the history of the masquerade, this is a fascinating and far reaching collection. Its breadth and depth make it essential reading for anyone interested in style, costume, the body, gender or history."--Jacket.
Way Too Cool by
Life, liberty, and the pursuit of cool have informed the American ethos since at least the 1970s. Whether we strive for it in politics or fashion, cool is big business for those who can sell it across a range of markets and media. Yet the concept wasn't always a popular commodity. Cool began as a potent aesthetic of post-World War II black culture, embodying a very specific, highly charged method of resistance to white supremacy and the globalized exploitation of capital.
The Dictionary of Fashion History by The Dictionary of Fashion History by 
Fashion and War in Popular Culture by
Aside from the occasional nod to epaulettes or use of camouflage, war and fashion seem to be strange partners. Not so, argue the contributors to this book, who connect military industrial practices as well as military dress to textile and clothing in new ways.
Fashion under Fascism by
Prada, Gucci, Max Mara:'alta moda'is synonymous with luxury, glamour and pleasure. Yet Italian fashion also has a dark history. The fascism of 1930's Italy dominated more than just politics, it spilled over into modes of dress.
Fashion Game Changers by
Fashion Game Changers traces radical innovations in Western fashion design from the beginning of the 20th century to the present.
The history of modern fashion from 1850 by
Focusing on fashion from 1850, noted fashion historians Daniel James Cole and Nancy Deihl consider the evolution of womenswear, menswear, and childrenswear, decade by decade.
The Birth of Cool by
t is broadly recognized that black style had a clear and profound influence on the history of dress in the twentieth century, with black culture and fashion having long been defined as 'cool'. Yet despite this high profile, in-depth explorations of the culture and history of style and dress in the African diaspora are a relatively recent area of inquiry.
Advertising Menswear by
In what was a golden age of British advertising, the notion of the'peacock male'was a strong theme in fashion promotion, reflecting a new affluence and the emergence of stylish youth cultures. Based on a detailed study of rich archival material, this pioneering study examines the production, circulation and consumption of print, television and cinema publicity for men's clothing in Britain during the second half of the twentieth century.
'Don We Now Our Gay Apparel by
Beginning with a look at the subcultural world of gay men in the early part of the 20th century, this work analyzes the trends in dress adopted by gay men as well as the challenge gay style has made to mainstream men's fashion.
Body Dressing by
"Exploring gender, photography, cultural history and modernity, this book deals with a vast range of questions inherent in dressing up the body. From fashion photography in the 1960s to contemporary queer fashion and the history of the masquerade, this is a fascinating and far reaching collection. Its breadth and depth make it essential reading for anyone interested in style, costume, the body, gender or history."--Jacket.
Sneakers by
This is the first academic study of sneakers and the subculture that surrounds them. Since the 1980s, American sneaker enthusiasts, popularly known as “sneakerheads” or “sneakerholics”, have created a distinctive identity for themselves, while sneaker manufacturers such as Reebok, Puma and Nike have become global fashion brands.
Way Too Cool by
Life, liberty, and the pursuit of cool have informed the American ethos since at least the 1970s. Whether we strive for it in politics or fashion, cool is big business for those who can sell it across a range of markets and media. Yet the concept wasn't always a popular commodity. Cool began as a potent aesthetic of post-World War II black culture, embodying a very specific, highly charged method of resistance to white supremacy and the globalized exploitation of capital.
The Dictionary of Fashion History by 
L. S. Ayres and Company by
In 1872 Lyman Ayres acquired a controlling interest in the Trade Place, a dry-goods store in Indianapolis. Two years later, he bought out his partners and renamed the establishment L. S. Ayres and Company. For the next century, Ayres was as much a part of Indianapolis as Monument Circle or the Indianapolis 500.
Body Dressing by
"Exploring gender, photography, cultural history and modernity, this book deals with a vast range of questions inherent in dressing up the body. From fashion photography in the 1960s to contemporary queer fashion and the history of the masquerade, this is a fascinating and far reaching collection. Its breadth and depth make it essential reading for anyone interested in style, costume, the body, gender or history."--Jacket.
Fashion under Fascism by
Prada, Gucci, Max Mara:'alta moda'is synonymous with luxury, glamour and pleasure. Yet Italian fashion also has a dark history. The fascism of 1930's Italy dominated more than just politics, it spilled over into modes of dress.
Fashion Game Changers by
Fashion Game Changers traces radical innovations in Western fashion design from the beginning of the 20th century to the present.
Edith Head by
Edith Head is probably the most iconic of all Hollywood costume designers. Beginning in the early 1930s until her retirement in 1977, Edith Head costumed the stars of over 500 films. With 35 Academy Award nominations for Best Costume Design, she won 8—the closest to come to her record is Irene Sharaff, who garnered 15 nominations and 5 wins. Edith Head truly surpassed all of her competition. Audrey Hepburn, Grace Kelly, Natalie Wood, Lucille Ball, Barbara Stanwyck, Mae West, Elizabeth Taylor, Doris Day, and Katherine Hepburn are just a few of the female stars Head dressed, both in character and as themselves.
Body Dressing by
"Exploring gender, photography, cultural history and modernity, this book deals with a vast range of questions inherent in dressing up the body. From fashion photography in the 1960s to contemporary queer fashion and the history of the masquerade, this is a fascinating and far reaching collection. Its breadth and depth make it essential reading for anyone interested in style, costume, the body, gender or history."--Jacket.
The World of Anna Sui by
Anna Sui is one of New York's most beloved and accomplished fashion designers, known for creating contemporary original clothing inspired by spectacular amounts of research into vintage styles and cultural arcana. She is especially famous for her textile prints.
Poiret, Dior and Schiaparelli by
Through a highly original and detailed analysis of the memoirs, interviews and other life writings of Poiret, Dior and Schiaparelli, this book explores changing notions of femininity in the early decades of the twentieth century, when the democratization of fashion began.
Fashion Visionaries by
Featuring 75 of the world's most legendary designers, this book presents the story of fashion through the fascinating personal lives and innovative collections that have shaped the field over the past century.
Vogue on Christian Dior by
In 1947, Christian Dior stunned the fashion world with his first collection, the “New Look,” which transformed the way women dressed, and he continued to send shock waves with his later shows, significantly altering the fashion landscape.
Screen Style by
Greta Garbo, Joan Crawford, Marlene Dietrich—all were icons of beauty and glamour in 1930s Hollywood. Screen Style reveals the impact of celebrities like these on women filmgoers, looking beyond the surface of the films and fashions of the era—often described as forms of escapism from the difficult realities of the Depression—to show how Hollywood presented women with models for self-determination during a time of rapid social change. Revealing the public and cinematic fascination with the strong-willed women featured in so many movies—ambitious gold diggers, career-minded working girls, social climbers, dangerous androgynous females, and other exotics—Sarah Berry presents a lively look at films, fan magazines, and advertising of that time.
Film, Fashion, and The 1960s by
A fascinating look at one of the most experimental, volatile, and influential decades, Film, Fashion, and the 1960s, examines the numerous ways in which film and fashion intersected and affected identity expression during the era.
Fashion and War in Popular Culture by
Aside from the occasional nod to epaulettes or use of camouflage, war and fashion seem to be strange partners. Not so, argue the contributors to this book, who connect military industrial practices as well as military dress to textile and clothing in new ways.
Fashion under Fascism by
Prada, Gucci, Max Mara:'alta moda'is synonymous with luxury, glamour and pleasure. Yet Italian fashion also has a dark history. The fascism of 1930's Italy dominated more than just politics, it spilled over into modes of dress.
Fashion Game Changers by
Fashion Game Changers traces radical innovations in Western fashion design from the beginning of the 20th century to the present.
Beyond the Frame by
Beyond the Frame explores the importance of visual images in the identities and material conditions of women of color as they relate to social power, oppression, and resistance. The goal of the collection is to rethink the category of visual theory through women of color.
Lost Girls by
In the glorious, boozy party after the first World War, a new being burst defiantly onto the world stage: the so-called flapper. Young, impetuous, and flirtatious, she was an alluring, controversial figure, celebrated in movies, fiction, plays, and the pages of fashion magazines. But, as this book argues, she didn't appear out of nowhere.
Dressing for the Culture Wars by
Style of dress has always been a way for Americans to signify their politics, but perhaps never so overtly as in the 1960s and 1970s. Whether participating in presidential campaigns or Vietnam protests, hair and dress provided a powerful cultural tool for social activists to display their politics to the world and became both the cause and a symbol of the rift in American culture
Advertising Menswear by
In what was a golden age of British advertising, the notion of the'peacock male'was a strong theme in fashion promotion, reflecting a new affluence and the emergence of stylish youth cultures. Based on a detailed study of rich archival material, this pioneering study examines the production, circulation and consumption of print, television and cinema publicity for men's clothing in Britain during the second half of the twentieth century.
'Don We Now Our Gay Apparel by
Beginning with a look at the subcultural world of gay men in the early part of the 20th century, this work analyzes the trends in dress adopted by gay men as well as the challenge gay style has made to mainstream men's fashion.
Body Dressing by
"Exploring gender, photography, cultural history and modernity, this book deals with a vast range of questions inherent in dressing up the body. From fashion photography in the 1960s to contemporary queer fashion and the history of the masquerade, this is a fascinating and far reaching collection. Its breadth and depth make it essential reading for anyone interested in style, costume, the body, gender or history."--Jacket.
The Story of Men's Underwear by
Men's fashion, particularly the trends involving undergarments, was once reserved for the elite; today it has become democratised, clear proof of social progress.
Sneakers by
This is the first academic study of sneakers and the subculture that surrounds them. Since the 1980s, American sneaker enthusiasts, popularly known as “sneakerheads” or “sneakerholics”, have created a distinctive identity for themselves, while sneaker manufacturers such as Reebok, Puma and Nike have become global fashion brands.
Way Too Cool by
Life, liberty, and the pursuit of cool have informed the American ethos since at least the 1970s. Whether we strive for it in politics or fashion, cool is big business for those who can sell it across a range of markets and media. Yet the concept wasn't always a popular commodity. Cool began as a potent aesthetic of post-World War II black culture, embodying a very specific, highly charged method of resistance to white supremacy and the globalized exploitation of capital.
The World of Anna Sui by
Anna Sui is one of New York's most beloved and accomplished fashion designers, known for creating contemporary original clothing inspired by spectacular amounts of research into vintage styles and cultural arcana. She is especially famous for her textile prints.
Poiret, Dior and Schiaparelli by
Through a highly original and detailed analysis of the memoirs, interviews and other life writings of Poiret, Dior and Schiaparelli, this book explores changing notions of femininity in the early decades of the twentieth century, when the democratization of fashion began.
Fashion Visionaries by
Featuring 75 of the world's most legendary designers, this book presents the story of fashion through the fascinating personal lives and innovative collections that have shaped the field over the past century.
Vogue on Christian Dior by
In 1947, Christian Dior stunned the fashion world with his first collection, the “New Look,” which transformed the way women dressed, and he continued to send shock waves with his later shows, significantly altering the fashion landscape.
The Dictionary of Fashion History by Advertising Menswear by
In what was a golden age of British advertising, the notion of the'peacock male'was a strong theme in fashion promotion, reflecting a new affluence and the emergence of stylish youth cultures. Based on a detailed study of rich archival material, this pioneering study examines the production, circulation and consumption of print, television and cinema publicity for men's clothing in Britain during the second half of the twentieth century.
'Don We Now Our Gay Apparel by
Beginning with a look at the subcultural world of gay men in the early part of the 20th century, this work analyzes the trends in dress adopted by gay men as well as the challenge gay style has made to mainstream men's fashion.
Body Dressing by
"Exploring gender, photography, cultural history and modernity, this book deals with a vast range of questions inherent in dressing up the body. From fashion photography in the 1960s to contemporary queer fashion and the history of the masquerade, this is a fascinating and far reaching collection. Its breadth and depth make it essential reading for anyone interested in style, costume, the body, gender or history."--Jacket.
The Story of Men's Underwear by
Men's fashion, particularly the trends involving undergarments, was once reserved for the elite; today it has become democratised, clear proof of social progress.
Way Too Cool by
Life, liberty, and the pursuit of cool have informed the American ethos since at least the 1970s. Whether we strive for it in politics or fashion, cool is big business for those who can sell it across a range of markets and media. Yet the concept wasn't always a popular commodity. Cool began as a potent aesthetic of post-World War II black culture, embodying a very specific, highly charged method of resistance to white supremacy and the globalized exploitation of capital.
The Dictionary of Fashion History by Fashion Game Changers by
Fashion Game Changers traces radical innovations in Western fashion design from the beginning of the 20th century to the present.
Advertising Menswear by
In what was a golden age of British advertising, the notion of the'peacock male'was a strong theme in fashion promotion, reflecting a new affluence and the emergence of stylish youth cultures. Based on a detailed study of rich archival material, this pioneering study examines the production, circulation and consumption of print, television and cinema publicity for men's clothing in Britain during the second half of the twentieth century.
Body Dressing by
"Exploring gender, photography, cultural history and modernity, this book deals with a vast range of questions inherent in dressing up the body. From fashion photography in the 1960s to contemporary queer fashion and the history of the masquerade, this is a fascinating and far reaching collection. Its breadth and depth make it essential reading for anyone interested in style, costume, the body, gender or history."--Jacket.
Sneakers by
This is the first academic study of sneakers and the subculture that surrounds them. Since the 1980s, American sneaker enthusiasts, popularly known as “sneakerheads” or “sneakerholics”, have created a distinctive identity for themselves, while sneaker manufacturers such as Reebok, Puma and Nike have become global fashion brands.
Fashion Visionaries by
Featuring 75 of the world's most legendary designers, this book presents the story of fashion through the fascinating personal lives and innovative collections that have shaped the field over the past century.
Fashion and War in Popular Culture by
Aside from the occasional nod to epaulettes or use of camouflage, war and fashion seem to be strange partners. Not so, argue the contributors to this book, who connect military industrial practices as well as military dress to textile and clothing in new ways.
Fashion under Fascism by
Prada, Gucci, Max Mara:'alta moda'is synonymous with luxury, glamour and pleasure. Yet Italian fashion also has a dark history. The fascism of 1930's Italy dominated more than just politics, it spilled over into modes of dress.
Fashion Game Changers by
Fashion Game Changers traces radical innovations in Western fashion design from the beginning of the 20th century to the present.
Advertising Menswear by
In what was a golden age of British advertising, the notion of the'peacock male'was a strong theme in fashion promotion, reflecting a new affluence and the emergence of stylish youth cultures. Based on a detailed study of rich archival material, this pioneering study examines the production, circulation and consumption of print, television and cinema publicity for men's clothing in Britain during the second half of the twentieth century.
The Story of Men's Underwear by
Men's fashion, particularly the trends involving undergarments, was once reserved for the elite; today it has become democratised, clear proof of social progress.
Sneakers by
This is the first academic study of sneakers and the subculture that surrounds them. Since the 1980s, American sneaker enthusiasts, popularly known as “sneakerheads” or “sneakerholics”, have created a distinctive identity for themselves, while sneaker manufacturers such as Reebok, Puma and Nike have become global fashion brands.
Way Too Cool by
Life, liberty, and the pursuit of cool have informed the American ethos since at least the 1970s. Whether we strive for it in politics or fashion, cool is big business for those who can sell it across a range of markets and media. Yet the concept wasn't always a popular commodity. Cool began as a potent aesthetic of post-World War II black culture, embodying a very specific, highly charged method of resistance to white supremacy and the globalized exploitation of capital.
Poiret, Dior and Schiaparelli by
Through a highly original and detailed analysis of the memoirs, interviews and other life writings of Poiret, Dior and Schiaparelli, this book explores changing notions of femininity in the early decades of the twentieth century, when the democratization of fashion began.
Fashion Visionaries by
Featuring 75 of the world's most legendary designers, this book presents the story of fashion through the fascinating personal lives and innovative collections that have shaped the field over the past century.
The World of Anna Sui by
Anna Sui is one of New York's most beloved and accomplished fashion designers, known for creating contemporary original clothing inspired by spectacular amounts of research into vintage styles and cultural arcana. She is especially famous for her textile prints.
Vogue on Christian Dior by
In 1947, Christian Dior stunned the fashion world with his first collection, the “New Look,” which transformed the way women dressed, and he continued to send shock waves with his later shows, significantly altering the fashion landscape.
The Dictionary of Fashion History by Advertising Menswear by
In what was a golden age of British advertising, the notion of the'peacock male'was a strong theme in fashion promotion, reflecting a new affluence and the emergence of stylish youth cultures. Based on a detailed study of rich archival material, this pioneering study examines the production, circulation and consumption of print, television and cinema publicity for men's clothing in Britain during the second half of the twentieth century.
The Story of Men's Underwear by
Men's fashion, particularly the trends involving undergarments, was once reserved for the elite; today it has become democratised, clear proof of social progress.
The Dictionary of Fashion History by Fashion and War in Popular Culture by
Aside from the occasional nod to epaulettes or use of camouflage, war and fashion seem to be strange partners. Not so, argue the contributors to this book, who connect military industrial practices as well as military dress to textile and clothing in new ways.
Fashion under Fascism by
Prada, Gucci, Max Mara:'alta moda'is synonymous with luxury, glamour and pleasure. Yet Italian fashion also has a dark history. The fascism of 1930's Italy dominated more than just politics, it spilled over into modes of dress.
Fashion Game Changers by
Fashion Game Changers traces radical innovations in Western fashion design from the beginning of the 20th century to the present.
Dressed for War by
Men in khaki and grey squatting in the trenches, women at work, gender bending in goggles and overalls over their trousers, a girl at the Paris theatre in pleated, beaded silk, a bangle on her forearm made from copper fuse wire from the Somme. What people wear matters. Copiously illustrated, this book is the story of what people on both sides wore on the front line and on the home front through the seismic years of World War I.
