LibGuides: Finance & Accounting: Accounting

Best Databases for Accounting

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings from GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection This link opens in a new window
This database brings together global scholarly journals with other key resources for access to reliable information in this continuously evolving area of study. Quickly locate precise results from sources ranging from current news to professional and academic journal articles covering the trends and history influencing important accounting, tax, banking, and financial issues of the day.

Part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides comprehensive coverage for all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

Journals

A collection of PEER REVIEWED journals...

Academy of Accounting and Financial Studies Journal‎
Accounting and Business Research‎
Accounting Research Journal‎
Accounting, Auditing & Accountability Journal‎
Journal of Accountancy Articles, interviews, profiles, legislation and news of note on all aspects of accounting for members of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants.
Journal of Financial Reporting and Accounting‎
Journal of International Accounting Research‎
Journal of International Financial Management & Accounting‎
Journal of Management Accounting Research‎
Management Accounting Research‎
Managerial Auditing Journal‎

Trade Publications and Websites

Company Information Links

ThomasRegister Thomas Register is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America.
SEC Filings and Forms
SEC Info (EDGAR) "An EDGAR online database of Securities and Exchange Commission filings & IPOs."
North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
AnnualReports.com This free Service allows users to review an annual report in an easy and convenient manner. Boasting the most complete and up-to-date listings of annual reports on the internet, AnnualReports.com provides instant access to annual reports in their actual format in one single location.

Standards

AICPA Audit and Attest Standards
Authoritative literature and interpretations from the AICPA applicable to the preparation and issuance of audit reports for nonissuers (that is, entities who are not issuers as defined by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, and entities whose audits are not required to be conducted according to the PCAOB standards), including Statements on Auditing Standards, Statements on Standards for Attestation Engagements, and Statements on Quality Control Standards.
FASAB Federal Accounting Standards Advisory Board
The mission of the FASAB is to promulgate federal accounting standards after considering the financial and budgetary information needs of citizens, congressional oversight groups, executive agencies, and the needs of other users of federal financial information.
FASB Financial Accounting Standards Board
FASB establishes and improves standards of financial accounting and reporting fostering financial reporting that provides decision-useful information to investors and other users of financial reports. If a password is requested, check with your professor.
GAO Government Auditing Standards (The Yellow Book)
Government Auditing Standards (the "Yellow Book") contains standards for audits of government organizations, programs, activities, and functions, and of government assistance received by contractors, nonprofit organizations, and other nongovernment organizations. These standards, often referred to as generally accepted government auditing standards (GAGAS), are to be followed by auditors and audit organizations when required by law, regulation, agreement, contract, or policy.
GASB Governmental Accounting Standards Board
The GASB mission is to establish and improve standards of state and local governmental accounting and financial reporting that will result in useful information for users of financial reports, and guide and educate the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of those financial reports.
IFRS International Accounting Standards Board
The IFRS Foundation is an independent, not-for-profit private sector organisation working in the public interest. Its principal objectives are to develop a single set of high quality, understandable, enforceable and globally accepted international financial reporting standards (IFRSs) through its standard-setting body, the IASB and to promote the use and rigorous application of those standards.
IRS Internal Revenue Code
Federal tax law begins with the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), enacted by Congress in Title 26 of the United States Code (26 U.S.C.).
SEC Securties Exchange Commission
Securities and Exchange Commission administers and enforces the securities laws of the United States including issuing rules and releases regulating financial reporting of public companies. EDGAR documents available at this site.

General Accounting Links

Accounting Today for the WebCPA AccountingToday.com is a leading provider of online business news for the tax and accounting community, offering breaking news, in-depth features, insightful editorial analysis, and a host of Web-related resources and services.
AccountingWeb.com AccountingWEB provides accounting news, information, tips, tools, resources and insight--everything you need to help you prosper and enjoy the accounting profession even more!
Business.gov Business.gov is the U.S. Government's official website for small businesses. Business.gov provides small business owners with information and resources they need to comply with laws and regulations, and to take advantage of government programs and services to help them start, expand and run their businesses.
CFO CFO.com offers daily stories geared specifically for finance executives. Coverage includes original reporting on new accounting standards, recent capital-raisings, risk management, and professional career development. The site also features proprietary benchmarking tools and calculators, plus a full set of related directories, special reports, and buyer's guides.
The Uniform CPA Examination The Uniform CPA Examination protects the public interest by helping to ensure that only qualified individuals become licensed as U.S. Certified Public Accountants (CPAs). Individuals seeking to qualify as CPAs – the only licensed qualification in accounting – are required to pass the CPA Examination.

Managerial and Financial Accounting

American Accounting Organization The American Accounting Association promotes worldwide excellence in accounting education, research and practice. Founded in 1916 as the American Association of University Instructors in Accounting, its present name was adopted in 1936. The Association is a voluntary organization of persons interested in accounting education and research.
American Economic Association The purposes of the American Economic Association are: 1. The encouragement of economic research, especially the historical and statistical study of the actual conditions of industrial life. 2. The issue of publications on economic subjects. 3. The encouragement of perfect freedom of economic discussion. The Association as such will take no partisan attitude, nor will it commit its members to any position on practical economic questions.
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and its predecessors have been the voice of the accounting profession since 1887. The AICPA prides itself on its serving the CPA profession and the public interest to which it is profoundly committed. AICPA members work in all sectors of the business and financial services profession, including Public Accounting, Financial Planning, Tax, Business & Industry, Law, Consulting, Education and Government.
Association for Financial Professionals The Association for Financial Professionals (AFP) serves a network of more than 16,000 treasury and finance professionals. Headquartered in Bethesda, MD, AFP provides members with breaking news, economic research and data on the evolving world of treasury and finance, as well as world-class treasury certification programs, networking events, financial analytical tools, training, and public policy representation to legislators and regulators. AFP is the daily resource for treasury and finance professionals.
Government Accounting Standards Board The GASB mission is to establish and improve standards of state and local governmental accounting and financial reporting that will result in useful information for users of financial reports, and guide and educate the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of those financial reports. The mission is accomplished through a comprehensive and independent process that encourages broad participation, objectively considers all stakeholder views, and is subject to oversight by the Financial Accounting Foundation’s Board of Trustees.
Institute of Management Accountants IMA is the worldwide association for accountants and financial professionals working in business. We are committed to helping you–and our more than 60,000 members–to expand your professional skills, better manage your organization, and enhance your career.
International Federation of Accountants As the global organization for the accountancy profession, IFAC is committed to protecting the public interest by developing high-quality international standards, promoting strong ethical values, encouraging quality practice, and supporting the development of all sectors of the profession around the world.
PrimeGlobal "PrimeGlobal is an award-winning association of independent accounting and business advisory firms, comprised of more than 300 highly successful independent member firms, in over 100 countries, with a combined annual revenue of more than US$3.5 billion*. PrimeGlobal provides its independent member firms with tools and resources to help them furnish superior accounting, auditing, tax, and advisory services to clients around the globe. "
National Association for Business Economics NABE is the premier professional association for business economists and those who use economics in the workplace. Since 1959, NABE has attracted the brightest minds and the most prominent figures in economics, business, and academia to its membership with highly-regarded conferences, educational and career development offerings, industry surveys, and its unrivaled networking opportunities.

Auditing

The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) The IIA is the internal audit profession's global voice, recognized authority, acknowledged leader, chief advocate, and principal educator. Members work in internal auditing, risk management, governance, internal control, information technology audit, education, and security.
Government Auditing Standards (The Yellow Book) Government Auditing Standards (the "Yellow Book") contains standards for audits of government organizations, programs, activities, and functions, and of government assistance received by contractors, nonprofit organizations, and other nongovernment organizations. These standards, often referred to as generally accepted government auditing standards (GAGAS), are to be followed by auditors and audit organizations when required by law, regulation, agreement, contract, or policy.
Public Company Accounting Oversight Board The PCAOB is a nonprofit corporation established by Congress to oversee the audits of public companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, accurate and independent audit reports. The PCAOB also oversees the audits of broker-dealers, including compliance reports filed pursuant to federal securities laws, to promote investor protection.

Forensic Accounting

Association of Certified Fraud Examiners world's largest anti-fraud organization and premier provider of anti-fraud training and education. Together with more than 55,000 members, the ACFE is reducing business fraud world-wide and inspiring public confidence in the integrity and objectivity within the profession.
National Association of Forensic Accountants The National Association of Forensic Accountants (NAFA) provides training and CERTIFICATION to Certified Public Accountants in various fields of forensic accounting and provides availability and access to the services of those who have achieved NAFA CERTIFIED status.

Your Librarian

Kathryn Junco

Email Me

Contact:

770-534-6193

Finance & Accounting: Accounting

Purpose

Best Databases for Accounting

Journals

A collection of PEER REVIEWED journals...

Trade Publications and Websites

Company Information Links

Standards

General Accounting Links

Managerial and Financial Accounting

Auditing

Forensic Accounting

Your Librarian