Nursing

Acute anxiety, one of the most common psychiatric illnesses, makes everyday experiences like walking down the street or talking on the phone a source of potential terror. This program explains how and why this happens as it examines the physiology and psychology of anxiety, its symptoms, its highly maladaptive consequences, and treatments such as cognitive behavioral therapy. Case studies involving panic disorders and social phobia are spotlighted. (48 minutes)

The Pima and Tohono O'odham Indians of southern Arizona have arguably the highest diabetes rates in the world - half of all adults are afflicted. But a century ago, diabetes was virtually unknown here. Researchers have poked and prodded the Pima for decades in search of a biological - or more recently, genetic - explanation for their high rates of disease. Meanwhile, medical-only interventions have failed to stem the rising tide not just among Native Americans, but globally.

Recent Mexican immigrants, although poorer, tend to be healthier than the average American. They have lower rates of death, heart disease, cancer, and other illnesses, despite being less educated, earning less and having the stress of adapting to a new country and a new language. In research circles, this is the Latino paradox.

Two billion people worldwide are infected with the TB bacillus, but only 9 million people a year actually get the disease. The story of the Marshall Islands can help us understand why.

Eating disorders are not about the desire to be thin. Eating disorders are severe psychological illnesses that usually take years to overcome and can be accompanied by devastating and sometimes deadly physical side effects. In this powerful program, four young women and men from a variety of ethnic backgrounds share their stories of the physical pain and emotional torment caused by eating disorders. Medical, psychological, and nutritional experts explain the types of eating disorders, their causes, and who is most at risk, as well as treatment options. A Cambridge Educational Production. (30 minutes)

What are the connections between healthy bodies, healthy bank accounts and skin colour? Our opening episode travels to Louisville, Kentucky, not to explore whether medical care cures us, but to see why we get sick in the first place, and why patterns of health and illness reflect underlying patterns of class and racial inequities.

In the winter of 2006, the Electrolux Corporation closed the largest refrigerator factory in the U.S. and moved it to Juarez, Mexico, for cheaper labor. The move turned the lives of nearly 3,000 workers in Greenville, Michigan, upside down.

The snack bowl at a “pharm party” includes a mix of prescription drugs—from Adderall to OxyContin to Xanax—and most of them come directly from the household medicine cabinet. This ABC News program examines a disturbing and rapidly growing trend in teenage drug abuse: getting high on legal drugs, often obtained through parents’ prescriptions or from questionable sources over the Internet. Presenting studies showing a rapid spike in pharmaceutical abuse among students as young as eighth-graders, the program visits a Houston substance-abuse treatment center where recovering teenage addicts and their parents share their eye-opening experiences. (21 minutes)

Why is your street address such a good predictor of your health? Latino and Southeast Asian immigrants like Gwai Boonkeut have been moving into long-neglected urban neighborhoods such as those in Richmond, California, a predominantly Black city in the San Francisco Bay Area. Segregation and lack of access to jobs, nutritious foods, and safe, affordable housing have been harmful to the health of long-time African American residents, and now the newcomers' health is suffering too.

After a traumatic shock, most people experience immediate symptoms of stress—and for some, the feelings do not fade away. In this program, psychiatrist Cécile Rousseau, psychologist Déogratias Bagilishya, and other specialists in the field of emotional trauma discuss the causes, symptoms, and treatment of post-traumatic stress disorder. The effects of adrenaline and cortisol on the body and the mechanics of narrative and emotional memory are also examined. Stories of trauma caused by child abuse, spouse abuse, war atrocities, and terminal illness are related by patients recovering from PTSD. (53 minutes)

In this edition of Investigative Reports, interviews with physicians, psychiatrists, and patients create a composite portrait of schizophrenia. Distributed by A&E Television Networks. (45 minutes)

Over 40 million American adults suffer each year from a variety of chronic sleep problems, prompting extensive research into sleep patterns and potential obstacles to healthy sleep. This program explores sleep disorders, how they are diagnosed, and how they can be easily managed or treated. Viewers will learn how various disorders are usually classified into three major categories: lack of sleep, or insomnia; disturbed sleep, such as obstructive sleep apnea; and too much sleep, known as narcolepsy. Factors such as stress, biology, diet, and environment are overviewed. Several case studies and expert interviews are included. (28 minutes)

Over the last three decades, science has been advancing the understanding of stress—how it impacts the human body and how social standing can make a person more or less susceptible. Through studies of baboons on the plains of Africa and research in the neuroscience labs of Stanford University, scientists are discovering just how lethal stress can be. Understanding how stress works can help people figure out ways to combat it and how to live a life free of the tyranny of this contemporary plague. As Stress: Portrait of a Killer shows, stress is not just a state of mind; it’s something measurable and dangerous. A National Geographic Production. (56 minutes)

The number of infants who die before their first birthday is much higher in the U.S. than in other countries. And, for African Americans, the rate is nearly twice as high than it is for white Americans. Even well-educated Black women have birth outcomes worse than white women who haven't finished high school. Why is this the case? WHEN THE BOUGH BREAKS explores this topic.

"Offering information on HIV/AIDS treatment, prevention, and research."

"Your online source for credible health information."

ClinicalTrials.gov provides regularly updated information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers fo

"The EthnoMed site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world."

The National Library of Medicine put together this 16 minute tutorial to help medical students and patients find the best online information about health.

"quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance"

"The Office of Health Information and Policy offers pre-formatted natality, mortality and population data. Data are available by 159 Georgia counties, 19 public health districts, Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSAs), non-MSAs, and the state as a whole."

Web-Based Tools for Public Health and Public Policy Data Analysis. Accessing the Georgia Department of Public Health's Data Warehouse. Creates tables, maps or charts of health data by selecting a topic.

This site is maintained by the Hardin Library of Health Sciences at the University of Iowa.

Evidence-based information on herbs, botanicals, vitamins, and other supplements. Hosted by Sloan-Kettering.

The Welcomme library has identified and categorized reliable web sites that deal with the history and progress of medicine.

Explore the world of medical research and education at Mayo Clinic, from laboratory and clinical trials to our schools for aspiring and current medical professionals.

"Helping to lead the way toward important medical discoveries that improve people's health and save lives, NIH scientists investigate ways to prevent disease as well as the causes, treatments, and even cures for common and rare diseases."

"OMIM is a comprehensive, authoritative, and timely compendium of human genes and genetic phenotypes. The full-text, referenced overviews in OMIM contain information on all known mendelian disorders and over 12,000 genes."

"PDQ (Physician Data Query) is NCI's comprehensive cancer database. It contains summaries on a wide range of cancer topics; a registry of 8000+ open and 19,000+ closed cancer clinical trials from around the world; and a directory of professionals who provide genetics services. PDQ also contains the NCI Dictionary of Cancer Terms ... and the NCI Drug Dictionary."

"The mission of the Office of Minority Health (OMH) is to improve and protect the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities."

"insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, the collection contributes to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of disease"

"Supercourse is a repository of lectures on global health and prevention designed to improve the teaching of prevention."

An extensive database of world public health information, socio-economic data and statistics, searchable by topic and by country.

Links to various states' Nurse Practice Acts