Undergraduate Education

A research project to create a digital library of outstanding children's books from all over the world. The collection's focus is on identifying materials that help children to understand the world around them and the global society in which they live. The materials in the collection, all presented in the original languages in which they were published, reflect similarities and differences in cultures, societies, interests, and lifestyles of peoples around the world.

"School LIbrary MEdia Kids, an innovative new site packed with games and book trailers, is designed to provide a fun, interactive learning experience to get students motivated to learn on their own! Students can choose from exceptional literacy-related resources such as author and book review websites as well as superb educational tools including reference works and search engines."

"A collection of resources for teaching mathematics from preschool through graduate school... includes the Math Forum Community, the Teacher Exchange, and Ask Dr. Math"

A website full of excellent resources for teachers. The resources deal with teaching math at all levels.

"The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is a public voice of mathematics education, providing vision, leadership and professional development to support teachers in ensuring equitable mathematics learning of the highest quality for all students."

"activities, curriculum materials, articles, scientific evidence, exhibitions, and reference lists... Topics include anthropology, astronomy, biology, earth science, and paleontology"

"activities, curriculum materials, articles, scientific evidence, exhibitions, and reference lists... Topics include anthropology, astronomy, biology, earth science, and paleontology"

"The National Center for Science Education (NCSE) is a not-for-profit, membership organization providing information and resources for schools, parents and concerned citizens working to keep evolution in public school science education. We educate the press and public about the scientific, educational, and legal aspects of the creation and evolution controversy, and supply needed information and advice to defend good science education at local, state, and national levels. Our 4000 members are sc

Resources for educators and students.

"guide to resources and information organized especially for teachers, media specialists, and others working with K-12 students. The site includes subject guides or pathways and other resources selected particularly for K-12 audiences."

"Discover selected online resources from the U.S. Geological Survey, including lessons, data, maps, and more, to support teaching, learning, and education (K-12)."

"supporting the teaching of American History in K-12 schools and colleges" with texts, reference sources, essays, and interactive modules for "doing history".

Lesson plans for the Civil Rights Digital Library

"Georgia Stories supports the Georgia Social Studies curriculum for 8th grade students. And, it's for anyone interested in Georgia history. The site is coordinated with the excellent series Georgia Stories produced by Georgia Public Broadcasting Education. As you explore the site, you will discover many educational resources for each potential study topic. Bear in mind we are constantly adding content to the site. Check back often to see what new content may be of interest."

"a highly regarded gateway to web resources as well as a repository of unique teaching materials, first-person primary documents, and guides to analyzing historical evidence for high school and college students and teachers of American history."

Hundreds of free, innovative online resources for teaching and learning American history. The site is designed for use by K-12 teachers and students, afterschool program providers, families, and individuals interested in lifelong learning. The resources focus on learning history by "reading" objects for the stories they hold about the nation and its many peoples. Learning activities feature artifacts selected from over 3 million items in the Museum's collections, and draw on the expertise of the

"A project of the Southern Poverty Law Center, Teaching Tolerance is dedicated to reducing prejudice, improving intergroup relations and supporting equitable school experiences for our nation's children."

"exceptional educational resources (both online and in print) to students growing up in a world undergoing increased globalization."

"The AIC site includes information about symptoms, conditions, and possible causes of ASD along with resources, information about congressional initiatives, and much more."

"Lacina offers several ways of planning and preparing for a successful virtual field trip for students. Virtual field trips offer a new way for teachers and students to visit historical sites and museums that are normally impossible for classrooms to visit. Field trips enable students to connect history to their daily lives, and better understand the daily struggles and lives of people from the past."

"Virtual field trips provide an alternative strategy for engaging students in study of the real world. This article examines the functions of virtual field trips to either enrich or augment actual field trips, or to provide electronic field trip experiences when no actual field trips are possible. We summarize best practices from research and practice for using this form of instruction, and discuss enabling conditions to support virtual field trips as a classroom learning tool."

A WebQuest example for teaching purposes

"provides detailed information about the structure of a good WebQuest, the strengths and weaknesses of using Web-Quests in teaching and learning, the challenges for practicing teachers and administrators."

A WebQuest example

"This WebQuest will help you sort out the fact from the fiction when it comes to weaving the Web into your K-12 curriculum. You'll think about issues involved with learning online and figure out ways to deal with them. You'll also discover a bunch of tools that will help you effectively integrate the Web into your K-12 curriculum. "

"the most complete and current source of information about the WebQuest Model"

"EdStats Query allows users to easily access and analyze education data on over 450 indicators. The query holds internationally-comparable data on over 200 countries and various regional and income group aggregates. Data can be retrieved and exported to Excel or utilized in the query to make charts and maps for comparative, aggregate, and/or single country analysis."

At the NCES, you can find statistics, surveys, data, tables, and fast facts related to education. NCES is run by the U.S. Department of Education.

"Comprehensive state, district, and school-level data for researchers, educators, and policy makers."

Factual data about public school districts in the U.S., from test scores to demographic information. Primary users are parents.

"The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication.
The UIS collects the data for more than 200 countries from Member States and international organizations."

"Offers educators the right tools for easily building standards-based instructional plans as well as immediate access to the materials aligned to the standards. All standards and resources are available in printable document formats and accessible through a powerful search engine."

"The Georgia Department of Education (GaDOE) oversees public education throughout the state. It ensures that laws and regulations pertaining to education are followed and that state and federal money appropriated for education is properly allocated to local school systems. We also provide education-related information to students, parents, teachers, educational staff, government officials, and the media."

"This site provides up-to-date registration and testing information, test preparation materials, and services that enable you to register and obtain your unofficial test results online."

Mission Statement:
"To set and apply high standards for the preparation, certification, and continued licensing of Georgia public educators."