Mass Communication

Current and past issues of this unique journal are available on the site. "By providing digital space for work that could not be published in traditional print journals, during the nine years of publishing, ACJ has become the premier journal for media ric

Sponsored by Indiana University.

Four basic tenets for ethics in journalism, and examples of ethical reporting.

Compiled by the University of Iowa Department of Communication Studies. Extensive electronic resources in various areas of mass communications.

"FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986. We work to invigorate the First Amendment by advocating for greater diversity in the press and by scrutinizing media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints. As an anti-censorship organization, we expose neglected news stories and defend working journalists when they are muzzled. As a progressive group, FAIR believes that structural re

This site includes current news headlines dealing with the FCC, information on the Freedom of Information Act, statistical reports, and strategic communication goals, among other things.

"Mass Communicating is a source of information and scholarship about diversity in the academic and professional realms of mass communication. The forum is based on the ideas that representative and diverse coverage can determine the success of the news in

A series of reports and fact sheets on topics related to children, media, and health that pull together the most relevant research on such issues as TV violence, teens online, media ratings, and children and video games.

"Promoting the study of media history from petroglyphs to pixels."

"Honoring excellence in journalism and the arts since 1917."

"AWRT's mission is to advance the impact of women in the electronic media and allied fields by educating, advocating and acting as a resource to its members and the industry."

"A professional organization that champions the advancement of women across all communications disciplines by recognizing excellence, promoting leadership and positioning its members at the forefront of the evolving communications era."

"...educational organization that provides leadership, public education, professional development and educational resources nationally. Dedicated to promoting and supporting media literacy education as a framework for accessing, analyzing, evaluating, cre

"Improving and Protecting Journalism since 1909"

"An image database of over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955."

Lists of Top 10 and Top 100 slogans, jingles, campaigns, etc. from the twentieth century.

"As the leading producer of public service advertisements (PSAs) since 1942, the Ad Council has been addressing critical social issues for generations of Americans."

"CineFiles is a database of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspaper articles, and other documents from the PFA Library's collection. The collection contains documents from a broad range of sources covering world cinema."

A thorough list of online film and moving image resources published by the Library of Congress.

Site contains biographies and plot summaries and is searchable by title, credit, genre, country and time period. Includes extensive movie and television credit listings for actors, directors, producers and other creative personnel.

Use this database to find reviews of over 73,000 films.

Listings and information about films released between 1888 and 1929. The database currently contains about 21,000 titles.

"one of the first openly accessible, peer–reviewed journals on the Internet, solely devoted to the Internet"

"explores the impact of the internet on children, families, communities, the work place, schools, health care and civic/political life"

"relevant, timely, and visionary research on what people around the world think and feel"

An "independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues."

An interactive multimedia celebration of 40 years of television and politics.

"The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. They have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968."

"Our site has always been a crucial link to experts, data and original content on critical topics; notable child/family stories; advice and tips from accomplished journalists; and access to a journalist-only discussion listserv. Our new Web site builds on our history by bringing new content and expanded resources."

"...the role of media in society, as well as essential skills of inquiry... to access, analyze, evaluate, create and participate using messages in a variety of forms" Summary begins on p.50.