"a cross-curricular research database that contains abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,000 popular nonfiction books for youth on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills, and more. Searchable by lexile.
Here are folktales, fairy tales, tall tales, myths, legends, magical tales, and sacred stories, plus original fables, humor, fantasy, and historical fiction—all from award-winning author Aaron Shepard. Most of the stories have been published in top children’s magazines like Cricket and Australia’s School Magazine, while some are from Aaron’s picture books and early readers.
A research project to create a digital library of outstanding children's books from all over the world. The collection's focus is on identifying materials that help children to understand the world around them and the global society in which they live. The materials in the collection, all presented in the original languages in which they were published, reflect similarities and differences in cultures, societies, interests, and lifestyles of peoples around the world.
The collection seeks to support the understanding of similarities and differences among and within countries, peoples, and cultures; promote tolerance and acceptance; include books that are relevant to children in today's world; have a high degree of appeal for children of an age between 3 and 13; meet professionally accepted quality standards in terms of content, format, and presentation; and can be presented effectively in a digital format.
"On this site, you can produce lists of nonfiction books kids love to read about subjects you’re required to teach, and they’re tied directly to National Education Standards. You can also meet the authors individually or as part of a school-wide project, and we’ll show you exactly how to do it."
Type in keywords to search. If the full text is available online, you will be linked to the full text.
To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box.
Items available online will have an Access Online button.
Credo Online Reference Books
Credo Reference has many tools to get you started on your education research, and they're all accessible online 24/7.
A brief sampling of the full-text books available on Credo are shown below. Click the covers to view each eBook: