American Experience

Short article by a history professor at USC discussing Southern perceptions of immigration.

Timeline of immigration history in the United States from 1630 to the present.

"The IHRC promotes interdisciplinary research on international migration, develops archives documenting immigrant and refugee life, especially in the U.S., and makes specialized scholarship accessible to students, teachers, and the public."

Primary sources documenting "voluntary immigration to the US from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression"

Thirteen collections from the Library of Congress's American Memory.

"This video examines the various reactions to newcomers around the turn of the century and during the world wars. It also urges the viewer to compare present-day responses to those of earlier times." -- Produced by Ohio State University.

American population facts about Latinos, Blacks, Asian Americans, Pacific Islanders, and Native Americans.

Links to facts, primary sources, scholarly analysis, photos, and research collections dealing with race and ethnicity in America. Maintained by sociology professors at Trinity University.

Seventeen collections from the Library of Congress's American Memory.

Links to credible online sites about Civil War & Slavery, Civil Rights, and Biographies in relation to African Americans.

Digital collections from the Library of Congress, and a special presentation the African-American quest for citizenship.

Online archival collection from Duke University Libraries

Primary documents about the African American experience. Compiled by the University of Virgina Library

"More than 16,500 pages of texts, 8,300 illustrations, and more than 60 maps. The Web site is organized around thirteen defining migrations that have formed and transformed African America and the nation. "

Exhibits covering Forced Migration, Plantation America, the Age of Revolutions, Black Southerners in the Old South, and the Problem of Freedom.

A large collection of digital primary sources from the University of Houston. Sections include Asia Discovers America, Asians and the Making of America, World War II and Asian Americans, and The Newest Immigrants.

A publication of the National Park Service

"Extensive guide to web resources for Latino studies and interests. Categorized into major gateways (Latino and Latin America), and links to web sites on culture, politics, and economics."

"The Consortium for Latino Immigration Studies at USC promotes and coordinates multi-disciplinary research related to Latinos in South Carolina and the Southeast." The Links to Resources, and Reports & Publications sections are particularly useful.

Select "Latino History and Culture" from the menu on the left and click "Search."

"This Project is a cooperative effort among the University of Oklahoma Law Center and the National Indian Law Library(NILL), and Native American tribes providing access to the Constitutions, Tribal Codes, and other legal documents."

Six collections from the Library of Congress's American Memory.

Online pathfinder for Native American history, courtesy of the University of Washington Libraries.

"Contains over 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States. ... The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images."