Healthcare Management

"Your online source for credible health information."

"The EthnoMed site contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to the US, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world."

The National Library of Medicine put together this 16 minute tutorial to help healthcare students and patients find the best online information about health.

"quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance"

"The Georgia Department of Public Health has two ways to access Georgia’s public health data:
The Online Analytical Statistical Information System (OASIS) is a web-based tool that will allow you to access publicly available health data and statistics for the state of Georgia
The Public Health Information Portal (PHIP) is an online data request system that will allow you to request data from the Department of Public Health that is not available on OASIS."

"Helping to lead the way toward important medical discoveries that improve people's health and save lives, NIH scientists investigate ways to prevent disease as well as the causes, treatments, and even cures for common and rare diseases."

"The mission of the Office of Minority Health (OMH) is to improve and protect the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities."

An extensive database of world public health information, socio-economic data and statistics, searchable by topic and by country.

Provides key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international sources. Themes include population dynamics, nutrition, reproductive health, health financing, medical resources and usage, immunization, infectious diseases, HIV/AIDS, DALY, population projections and lending.

Population growth estimates and other demographic projections from 2005 to 2050, at five-year intervals. They are disaggregated by age-group and gender and cover approximately 200 economies.

Covers indicators by country for 1990, 1995, 2000 and the most recent year available.

"professional membership association which provides superior educational programming, professional certification, and career development opportunities for its members. Guided by the vision that dynamic leadership forges long term health care services that are desired, meaningful, successful, and efficient, ACHCA identifies, recognizes, and supports long term care leaders, advocating for their mission and promoting excellence in their profession."

"an international professional society of more than 30,000 healthcare executives who lead hospitals, healthcare systems and other healthcare organizations."

“ represents and serves all types of hospitals, health care networks, and their patients and communities… AHA ensures that members' perspectives and needs are heard and addressed in national health policy development, legislative and regulatory debates, and judicial matters.”

"Our mission at the American Medical Association is to promote the art and science of medicine and the betterment of public health."

“fosters excellence and innovation in healthcare management education, research and practice… works to improve the delivery of health services - and thus the health of citizens - throughout the world by educating professional managers at the entry level.”

“nation's leading membership organization for healthcare financial management executives and leaders… in all areas of the healthcare system, including hospitals, managed care organizations, physician practices, accounting firms, and insurance companies.”

“membership comprises administrators, CEOs, physicians in management, board members, office managers and many other management professionals…in medical practices and ambulatory care organizations of all sizes and types, including integrated systems and hospital- and medical school-affiliated practices.”

Guides and reports from the American Hospital Association covering care coordination, care delivery transformation, equity, operational excellence, and patient safety and quality.

The Agency's goal is to improve the quality and safety of health care. It achieves this goal by translating research into improved health care practice and policy. Health care providers, patients, policymakers, payers, administrators, and others use AHRQ research findings to improve health care quality, accessibility, and outcomes of care.

Regulations, guideance, research, statistics

"This Web site provides information about the full range of Federal Trade Commission activities to protect and promote competition in health care markets.

“…project uses Medicare data to provide comprehensive information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets… These reports, used by policymakers, the media, health care analysts and others, have radically changed our understanding of the efficiency and effectiveness of our health care system.”

“…a non-partisan source of facts, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public. Our product is information, always provided free of charge — from the most sophisticated policy research, to basic facts and numbers…”

"The Commission provides information and analysis on health care coverage and access for the low-income population, with a special focus on Medicaid's role and coverage of the uninsured."

"As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people."