American Accounting OrganizationThe American Accounting Association promotes worldwide excellence in accounting education, research and practice. Founded in 1916 as the American Association of University Instructors in Accounting, its present name was adopted in 1936. The Association is a voluntary organization of persons interested in accounting education and research.
American Economic AssociationThe purposes of the American Economic Association are: 1. The encouragement of economic research, especially the historical and statistical study of the actual conditions of industrial life. 2. The issue of publications on economic subjects. 3. The encouragement of perfect freedom of economic discussion. The Association as such will take no partisan attitude, nor will it commit its members to any position on practical economic questions.
American Institute of Certified Public AccountantsThe American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA) and its predecessors have been the voice of the accounting profession since 1887. The AICPA prides itself on its serving the CPA profession and the public interest to which it is profoundly committed. AICPA members work in all sectors of the business and financial services profession, including Public Accounting, Financial Planning, Tax, Business & Industry, Law, Consulting, Education and Government.
Association for Financial ProfessionalsThe Association for Financial Professionals (AFP) serves a network of more than 16,000 treasury and finance professionals. Headquartered in Bethesda, MD, AFP provides members with breaking news, economic research and data on the evolving world of treasury and finance, as well as world-class treasury certification programs, networking events, financial analytical tools, training, and public policy representation to legislators and regulators. AFP is the daily resource for treasury and finance professionals.
Government Accounting Standards BoardThe GASB mission is to establish and improve standards of state and local governmental accounting and financial reporting that will result in useful information for users of financial reports, and guide and educate the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of those financial reports. The mission is accomplished through a comprehensive and independent process that encourages broad participation, objectively considers all stakeholder views, and is subject to oversight by the Financial Accounting Foundation’s Board of Trustees.
Institute of Management AccountantsIMA is the worldwide association for accountants and financial professionals working in business. We are committed to helping you–and our more than 60,000 members–to expand your professional skills, better manage your organization, and enhance your career.
International Federation of AccountantsAs the global organization for the accountancy profession, IFAC is committed to protecting the public interest by developing high-quality international standards, promoting strong ethical values, encouraging quality practice, and supporting the development of all sectors of the profession around the world.
PrimeGlobal"PrimeGlobal is an award-winning association of independent accounting and business advisory firms, comprised of more than 300 highly successful independent member firms, in over 100 countries, with a combined annual revenue of more than US$3.5 billion*. PrimeGlobal provides its independent member firms with tools and resources to help them furnish superior accounting, auditing, tax, and advisory services to clients around the globe. "
National Association for Business EconomicsNABE is the premier professional association for business economists and those who use economics in the workplace. Since 1959, NABE has attracted the brightest minds and the most prominent figures in economics, business, and academia to its membership with highly-regarded conferences, educational and career development offerings, industry surveys, and its unrivaled networking opportunities.
Forensic Accounting
Association of Certified Fraud Examinersworld's largest anti-fraud organization and premier provider of anti-fraud training and education. Together with more than 55,000 members, the ACFE is reducing business fraud world-wide and inspiring public confidence in the integrity and objectivity within the profession.
National Association of Forensic AccountantsThe National Association of Forensic Accountants (NAFA) provides training and CERTIFICATION to Certified Public Accountants in various fields of forensic accounting and provides availability and access to the services of those who have achieved NAFA CERTIFIED status.
Auditing
The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA)The IIA is the internal audit profession's global voice, recognized authority, acknowledged leader, chief advocate, and principal educator. Members work in internal auditing, risk management, governance, internal control, information technology audit, education, and security.
Government Auditing Standards (The Yellow Book)Government Auditing Standards (the "Yellow Book") contains standards for audits of government organizations, programs, activities, and functions, and of government assistance received by contractors, nonprofit organizations, and other nongovernment organizations. These standards, often referred to as generally accepted government auditing standards (GAGAS), are to be followed by auditors and audit organizations when required by law, regulation, agreement, contract, or policy.
Public Company Accounting Oversight BoardThe PCAOB is a nonprofit corporation established by Congress to oversee the audits of public companies in order to protect the interests of investors and further the public interest in the preparation of informative, accurate and independent audit reports. The PCAOB also oversees the audits of broker-dealers, including compliance reports filed pursuant to federal securities laws, to promote investor protection.
General Accounting Links
Accounting Today for the WebCPAAccountingToday.com is a leading provider of online business news for the tax and accounting community, offering breaking news, in-depth features, insightful editorial analysis, and a host of Web-related resources and services.
AccountingWeb.comAccountingWEB provides accounting news, information, tips, tools, resources and insight--everything you need to help you prosper and enjoy the accounting profession even more!
Business.govBusiness.gov is the U.S. Government's official website for small businesses. Business.gov provides small business owners with information and resources they need to comply with laws and regulations, and to take advantage of government programs and services to help them start, expand and run their businesses.
CFOCFO.com offers daily stories geared specifically for finance executives. Coverage includes original reporting on new accounting standards, recent capital-raisings, risk management, and professional career development. The site also features proprietary benchmarking tools and calculators, plus a full set of related directories, special reports, and buyer's guides.
The Uniform CPA ExaminationThe Uniform CPA Examination protects the public interest by helping to ensure that only qualified individuals become licensed as U.S. Certified Public Accountants (CPAs). Individuals seeking to qualify as CPAs – the only licensed qualification in accounting – are required to pass the CPA Examination.
