Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowFeaturing thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
BioMed Central: The Open Access PublisherThis link opens in a new windowSearch for open access BioMed articles. All research articles in BioMed Central's journals receive rapid and thorough peer review. BioMed Central is committed to showing that open access provides a viable alternative that better fits the needs of the scientific community.
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhostThis link opens in a new windowoffers information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, the health care system, and preclinical sciences. MEDLINE with Full Text provides full text for over 1,300 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, most have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE.View the MEDLINE Fact Sheet for additional information.
Research Library By ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowResearch Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
Science and Technology CollectionThis link opens in a new windowScience & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowA leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
"The National Science Foundation (NSF) is an independent federal agency created by Congress in 1950 "to promote the progress of science; to advance the national health, prosperity, and welfare; to secure the national defense…" With an annual budget of about $6.9 billion (FY 2010), we are the funding source for approximately 20 percent of all federally supported basic research conducted by America's colleges and universities."
"This site is provided as a service to scientists, educators, students and others simply interested in the subject. While many of the resources listed on these pages are designed for scientific professionals, those that require little or no background are labeled as Beginner's Level."
"The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is a consortium of 12 natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections and to make that literature available for open access and responsible use as a part of a global “biodiversity commons.” BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life (EOL). BHL content may be freely viewed through the online reader or download
"Research in the biological sciences often depends on the development of new ways of visualizing important processes and molecules. Indeed, the very act of observing and recording data lies at the foundation of all the natural sciences. The same holds true for the teaching and communication of scientific ideas; to see is to begin to understand. The continuing quest for new and more powerful ways to communicate ideas in biology is the focus of BioVisions at Harvard University."
"Welcome to the EPA Microbiology Home Page. The purpose of this site is to provide access to microbiology related information that has been developed or managed by the Agency. EPA methods related to bacteria, viruses and protozoans can be found at this site."
"Premieres with a search for the very roots of the family Tree of Life. The program begins with a look back at the Earth's distant past and how scientists believe microbial life evolved over the past 3.8 billion years. It returns to the present with a voyage to a steam-shrouded volcanic island off the coast of Italy where a German microbiologist searches for the modern relatives of Earth's earliest microbial life forms."
"Established in 2003, MicrobeWorld is an interactive multimedia educational outreach initiative from the American Society for Microbiology that promotes awareness and understanding of key microbiological issues to adult and youth audiences, and showcases the significance of microbes in our lives."
"Bookshelf provides free access to over 700 texts in life science and healthcare. A vital node in the data-rich resource network at NCBI, Bookshelf enables users to easily browse, retrieve, and read content, and spurs discovery of related information."
"Bacteria, fungi, parasites, prions and viruses cause a plethora of diseases that have important medical, agricultural, and economic consequences. Moreover, the study of microbes continues to provide novel insights into such fundamental processes as the molecular basis of cellular and organismal function.
PLoS Pathogens reflects the full breadth of research in these areas by publishing outstanding original articles that significantly advance the understanding of pathogens and how they interact
"Scitable is a free science library and personal learning tool brought to you by Nature Publishing Group, the world's leading publisher of science. Scitable currently concentrates on genetics and cell biology, which include the topics of evolution, gene expression, and the rich complexity of cellular processes shared by living organisms. Scitable also offers resources for the budding scientist, with advice about effective science communication and career paths."
"This handbook provides basic facts regarding foodborne pathogenic microorganisms and natural toxins. It brings together in one place information from the Food & Drug Administration, the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention, the USDA Food Safety Inspection Service, and the National Institutes of Health."
"The Common Fund's Human Microbiome Project (HMP) aims to characterize the microbial communities found at several different sites on the human body, including nasal passages, oral cavities, skin, gastrointestinal tract, and urogenital tract, and to analyze the role of these microbes in human health and disease."