Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Research Library By ProQuestThis link opens in a new windowResearch Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
National Science Digital LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThe National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
Science and Technology CollectionThis link opens in a new windowScience & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowA leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
Environment CompleteThis link opens in a new windowThis resource offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete™ contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles). The database contains full text for more than 930 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline.
Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
"The Centre for Population Biology, hosted by Imperial College London, is a NERC (Natural Environment Research Council) funded collaborative centre, established in 1989 to increase knowledge of how ecological systems function."
"The eSkeletons Project is a website with digitized images and animations of human and primate skeletons for the study of comparative anatomy. Students can view regions of skeletons from any orientation as well as muscle and joint information."
"‘What does it mean to be human?’ – the theme of the Human Origins Initiative of the Smithsonian Institution – reflects one of humanity’s most profound quests. The initiative’s goal is to explore the universal human story at its broadest time scale. It seeks to stimulate new research findings that deepen an understanding of what makes our species unique and how we came to be."
"Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan. ADW has thousands of species accounts about individual animal species, and descriptions of levels of organization above the species level, especially phyla, classes, and in some cases, orders and families."
"The University of Pittsburgh is fortunate to own one of the rare, complete sets of John James Audubon’s Birds of America." Includes Search the Plates, Advanced search, Browse the Plates, Browse Plate Names, and Browse Plate Thumbnails.
"The Borror Laboratory houses one of the largest collections of recorded animal sounds in the world. Founded by the late Dr. Donald Borror, Professor of Entomology and Zoology at The Ohio State University, the collection contains more than 30,000 recordings of over 1000 species of animals. Digital Videos are in Real Media format and require the Real Media Player."
"The dynamic nature of the BP oil spill has been a challenge for a range of communities-– from hotel operators to fishermen to local community leaders. We know the American people have questions about how the federal government is responding to this crisis, and we are committed to providing the answers with clarity and transparency. The site you’re viewing right now is a symbol of that commitment."
"NOAA's National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC) is an organization that provides scientific and public stewardship for national and international marine environmental and ecosystem data and information. With its regional branch assets and divisions, NODC is integrated to provide access to the world's most comprehensive sources of marine environmental data and information. NODC maintains and updates a national ocean archive with environmental data acquired from domestic and foreign activities a
"The Ocean Biogreographic information System (OBIS) seeks to absorb, integrate, and assess isolated datasets into a larger, more comprehsensive pictures of life in our oceans. The system hopes to stimulate research about our oceans to generate new hypotheses concerning evolutionary processes, species distributions, and roles of organisms in marine systems on a global scale."
"The Ocean is important to all life, including yours. Join us. Welcome to the Ocean Portal – a unique, interactive online experience that inspires awareness, understanding, and stewardship of the world’s Ocean, developed by the Smithsonian Institution’s National Museum of Natural History and more than 20 collaborating organizations."
"The UN Atlas of the Oceans is an Internet portal providing information relevant to the sustainable development of the oceans. It is designed for policy-makers who need to become familiar with ocean issues and for scientists, students and resource managers who need access to databases and approaches to sustainability. The UN Atlas can also provide the ocean industry and stakeholders with pertinent information on ocean matters."
The mission of Ecosystems is "to work with others to provide the scientific understanding and technologies needed to support the sound management and conservation of our Nation's biological resources."