LibGuides: Biology: Science Education Sources

Subject Specific Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ERIC (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Educational Resources Information Center, database covers all aspects of education and educational research. ERIC provides access to education-related resources, including journal and non-journal bibliographic information. The EBSCOhost version of the ERIC database includes the searchable Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors.
ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents regarding education literature and resources

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
National Science Digital Library This link opens in a new window The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.
The National Science Digital Library (NSDL) was created by the National Science Foundation to provide organized access to high quality resources and tools that support innovations in teaching and learning at all levels of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education.

Part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library.
Science and Technology Collection This link opens in a new window Science & Technology Collection contains more than 830 full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,740 journals.
This database contains more than 820 leading full-text journals covering relevant aspects of the scientific and technical community. In addition to full text, Science & Technology Collection™ offers indexing and abstracts for more than 1,750 journals. Topics include aeronautics, astrophysics, biology, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation, physics, archaeology, marine sciences and materials science.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

Subject Specific Journals

Science and children
Available in ProQuest Research Library from 1997.
Science news
Available in EBSCOhost Academic Search Complete from 1975.
Science scope
Available in ProQuest Research Library from 1997.

Subject Specific Websites

BIODIDAC
"A bank of digital resources for teaching biology."
Cool Science
"We live in an era of discovery. Each day, scientists bring us closer to understanding fundamental questions about human life. How does the brain process information and store knowledge? How do mutations in key genes cause disease? How do cells communicate? The challenge of solving these and other questions—as well as the promise of what those answers might yield—drives the quest for knowledge at the heart of our work at the Howard Hughes Medical Institute."
Digital Library for Earth System Education
"The Digital Library for Earth System Education (DLESE) is a distributed community effort involving educators, students, and scientists working together to improve the quality, quantity, and efficiency of teaching and learning about the Earth system at all levels."
eSkeletons
"The eSkeletons Project is a website with digitized images and animations of human and primate skeletons for the study of comparative anatomy. Students can view regions of skeletons from any orientation as well as muscle and joint information."
National Center for Case Study Teaching in Science
"The center's extensive collection of several hundred case studies covering a variety of scientific disciplines includes descriptive annotations of each, with suggested subjects and grade levels as well as possible adaptations."
National Geographic
"The National Geographic Society has been inspiring people to care about the planet since 1888. It is one of the largest non-profit scientific and educational institutions in the world. Its interests include geography, archaeology and natural science, the promotion of environmental and historical conservation."
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Education Resources
Resources for educators and students.
National Science Digital Library
"An online library which directs users to exemplary resources for science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education and research... designed primarily for K-16 educators."
National Weather Service
"The National Weather Service (NWS) provides weather, hydrologic, and climate forecasts and warnings for the United States, its territories, adjacent waters and ocean areas, for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy. NWS data and products form a national information database and infrastructure which can be used by other governmental agencies, the private sector, the public, and the global community."
Science & Health Education Partnership (SEP) Lessons
"The Science & Health Education Partnership (SEP) is a collaboration between the University of California, San Francisco and the San Francisco Unified School District. Scientists and educators from both organizations work in partnership to support quality science education for K-12 students. SEP, founded in 1987 and currently housed in the Department of Biochemistry & Biophysics, is nationally recognized as a model partnership between a university and a local public school system."
Science.gov: Science Education Links
"Science.gov is a gateway to government science information and research results"
Science360
"Science360 Knowledge Network immerses visitors in the latest wonders of science, engineering, technology and math. We gather the latest science videos provided by scientists, colleges and universities, science and engineering centers, the National Science Foundation and more. Each video is embeddable to put on your own personal websites, blogs and social networking pages. Science360 engages the general public, science junkies and students alike...."
Scientific American
"Scientific American, the oldest continuously published magazine in the U.S., has been bringing its readers unique insights about developments in science and technology for more than 160 years."
The Space Place
leads elementary students "one small step at a time through subjects that people might consider too difficult for a lay person, let alone a child. Challenging subjects such as the electromagnetic spectrum, conservation of momentum, orbits, gravitational waves, tidal forces, binary and hexadecimal notation, and interferometry are treated simply and concisely, with everyday analogies and metaphors, concrete examples, and compelling illustrations."
USGS Education
"Discover selected online resources from the U.S. Geological Survey, including lessons, data, maps, and more, to support teaching, learning, and education (K-12)."
WWF WildFinder
"WildFinder is a map-driven, searchable database of more than 26,000 species worldwide, with a powerful search tool that allows users to discover where species live or explore wild places to find out what species live there. Containing information on birds, mammals, reptiles, and amphibians, WildFinder is a valuable resource for scientists, students, educators, travelers, birdwatchers and nature enthusiasts alike."

Subject Specific Associations and Professional Information

American Association for the Advancement of Science
"The American Association for the Advancement of Science is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the journal Science, as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and spearheads programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide."
Georgia Performance Standards: Science
"The Georgia Performance Standards are designed to provide students with the knowledge and skills for proficiency in science. The Project 2061’s Benchmarks for Science Literacy is used as the core of the curriculum to determine appropriate content and process skills for students. The GPS is also aligned to the National Research Council’s National Science Education Standards."
National Association of Biology Teachers
"The National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT) is the 'leader in life science education.' Since its inception in 1938, thousands of educators have joined NABT to share experiences and expertise with colleagues from around the world, keep up with trends and developments in the field, and grow professionally."
National Science Teachers Association
"The largest organization in the world committed to promoting excellence and innovation in science teaching and learning for all."
Sigma Xi
"Sigma Xi is the honor society of research scientists and engineers. It is an international, multidisciplinary society whose programs and activities promote the health of the scientific enterprise, reward excellence in scientific research and encourage a sense of companionship and cooperation among scientists in all fields."