LibGuides: History: Article Databases

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals in a range of disciplines including language and literature, the arts, history, social sciences, etc.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest News & Newspapers, researchers can access news reports, editorials, advertisements, stock tables, and cartoons, from more than 3,000 of the world’s news sources, such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, The Guardian & Observer, The Globe and Mail, and more are open to discovery.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

How to Read a Scholarly Article Tutorial Link: brenau.libwizard.com/f/scholarlyarticle2020

Subject Specific Databases

Articles

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window A multi-disciplinary database, with more than 6,100 full-text periodicals, including more than 5,100 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 10,100 journals and a total of 10,600 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Database titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. The subject strengths of the collection are art and design, interior design, anthropology, history, philosophy, modern languages and literature, music, theatre, film, and cultural studies.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
History Reference Source By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window A full-text history reference database designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges, and undergraduate research. The database features reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and history periodicals as well as thousands of historical documents, biographies of historical figures, photos, maps, and over 80 hours of historical video.
The database features full text for more than 1,990 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books from leading history publishers. The database also includes full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals in a range of disciplines including language and literature, the arts, history, social sciences, etc.
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window Covering 1971 to the present, this database provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects and includes full-text access for thousands of titles, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Additional Helpful Databases

JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals in a range of disciplines including language and literature, the arts, history, social sciences, etc.
Military Database This link opens in a new window Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more. It includes over 545 titles, with more than 400 available in full text.
Covers topics across all government and military branches, including international relations, political science, criminology, defense, aeronautics and space flight, communications, civil engineering, and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Religion Database This link opens in a new window An indispensable resource for religious studies programs and for anyone researching religious issues and perspectives. This resource presently has more than 150 journals, with most of them available with full-text. The content is full-text, scholarly, and provides religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history.
This resource presently has more than 260 journals, with most of them available with full-text. The content is full-text, scholarly, and designed to meet the needs of both religious studies programs and general library collections. ProQuest Religion covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of many, worldwide religions. In addition, there are many titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. ProQuest Religion provides an excellent source of religious news and information, informative details on doctrines and philosophies, and scholarly reports on religious history.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window Covering material from 1994 onward, this database is a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. It includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text. ProQuest Social Science Journals provides information on hundreds of topics, including addiction studies, urban studies, family studies, and international relations.
Social Science Database provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window Updated daily, this database includes more than 475 full-text titles. It provides information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.
Information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library