LibGuides: International Business: Resources

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a resource when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text, View eBook, or View Now button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a book when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View eBook button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate a video when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Now button.

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subjects.

International Business Articles

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings from GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Some of the best collections covering international business are linked below.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides information pertinent to the study of business and finance topics across Asia and Europe, including academic journals, newspapers, newswires, and magazines. Find information on companies, economies, markets, international trade, and overall business conditions and practices throughout these regions.

Part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete provides comprehensive coverage for all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
International Newsstream provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives that stretch back decades, featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format. ProQuest International Newsstream provides information from more than 800 of the world's top newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

World Bank Data Catalog

World Bank Enterprise Surveys
Provides firm-level data on a broad range of issues about the business environment and performance of firms, including business-government relations, firm financing, labor, infrastructure, informal payments and corruption, and other topics such as training and innovation.

The data catalog is a listing of available World Bank datasets, including databases, pre-formatted tables and reports. Each of the listings includes a description of the data set and a direct link to that set. Where possible, the databases are linked directly to a selection screen to allow users to select the countries, indicators, and years they would like to search.

Business Environment Snapshots
A one-stop guide to business environment indicators, laws, and World Bank Group project information for 183 countries.
Country At-a-Glance Tables
Country at-a-glance tables present key indicators tracing the trends in social and economic development from the last three decades.
Country Policy and Institutional Assessment
Rating of countries against a set of 16 criteria grouped in four clusters: economic management, structural policies, policies for social inclusion and equity, and public sector management and institutions.
Country Profiles
Country profiles present the latest key development data from the World Bank and other international agencies.
Doing Business
Provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies. Each economy is ranked according to 10 sets of indicators. These are combined into an overall "ease of doing business" ranking.
Enterprise Surveys
Provides firm-level data from over 120,000 establishments in 125 countries. Data are used to create over 100 indicators that benchmark the quality of the business environment across the globe.
Environment At-a-Glance Factsheets
Contains information covering topics such as Agriculture, Biodiversity, and Environmental Health.
Environmental Accounting - Adjusted Net Savings
Adjusted net savings measures measures the true rate of savings in an economy after taking into account investment in human capital, depletion of natural resources and damage caused by pollution.
Environmental Accounting - Total Wealth
A process of portfolio management in which the assets to be managed are produced capital, natural capital and human resources. Estimates of wealth and its components are available for nearly 120 countries.
Environmental Data by Topic
Contains online reports classified by topics including agriculture, forests and biodiversity, energy, emissions and pollution, water and sanitation, and environment and health.
GenderStats
"GenderStats is a compilation of data on key gender topics from national statistics agencies, United Nations databases, and World Bank-conducted or funded surveys."
Global Development Finance
Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries. Includes over 200 time series indicators from 1970 to 2008, for most reporting countries.
Global Economic Monitor
Provides daily updates of global economic developments, with coverage of high income- as well as developing countries. Daily data updates are provided for exchange rates, equity markets, interest rates, stripped bond spreads, and emerging market bond indices.
Global Statistics
Key indicators for country groups and selected economies.
Health Nutrition and Population Statistics
Provides key health, nutrition and population statistics gathered from a variety of international sources. Themes include population dynamics, nutrition, reproductive health, health financing, medical resources and usage, immunization, infectious diseases, HIV/AIDS, DALY, population projections and lending.
Population Projections
Population growth estimates and other demographic projections from 2005 to 2050, at five-year intervals. They are disaggregated by age-group and gender and cover approximately 200 economies.
Temporary Trade Barriers Database including the Global Antidumping Database
Hosts newly collected, freely available, and detailed data on more than thirty different national governments’ use of policies such as antidumping, global safeguards, China-specific transitional safeguard measures, and countervailing duties.
Thematic Health Nutrition Population (HNP) Data
Data covers indicators on the following themes by country for 1990, 1995, 2000 and the most recent year available.
World Development Indicators
The primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
World Integrated Trade Solution
Gives access to bilateral trade between countries based on various product classifications, product details, years, and trade flows. It also contains tariff and non-tariff measures as well as analysis tool to calculate effects of tariff reductions. In addition, users have access to two visualization tools.
Terms of Use for Datasets Listed in The World Bank Data Catalog
The World Bank Group provides you with access to the Datasets free of charge subject to the terms of this agreement (these “Dataset Terms”).

Overview

CEPALSTAT
"CEPALSTAT is the gateway to all the statistical information of Latin America and the Caribbean countries collected, systematized and published by ECLAC."
Comparative Study of Electoral Systems
"The Comparative Study of Electoral Systems
(CSES) is a collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies. The resulting data are deposited along with voting, demographic, district and macro variables."
Data Centre: UNESCO Institute for Statistics
"The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication.
The UIS collects the data for more than 200 countries from Member States and international organizations."
DataFinder: Population Reference Bureau
"A database with hundreds of variables for the U.S. and the world."
globalEDGE - Your Source for Global Business Knowledge
"A knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities;" includes industry, state, and country profiles and diagnostic tools.
Global Health Facts
"An online gateway for the latest data and information on the U.S. role in global health."
UNdata
"pooling major UN databases and those of several international sources into one single internet environment. The innovative design allows a user to access a large number of UN databases either by browsing the data series or through a keyword search."

US and International Trade Web Sites

European Commission: Eurostat
"Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union situated in Luxembourg. Its task is to provide the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions."
Foreign Trade Data - Statistics
"FOREIGN TRADE is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States. If you're searching for import or export statistics, information on export regulations, commodity classifications, or a host of other trade related topics, this is the place to get the information you need."
Guide to Law Online
"The Guide to Law Online is an annotated compendium of Internet links; a portal of Internet sources of interest to legal researchers."
International Trade Association
Find trade data, research and reports about countries, markets, and trade topics around the world. Created by the US Department of Commerce.
Inter-American Development Bank: Statistics and Databases
"The Bank has compiled and organized over 1,000 searchable statistics and indicators for countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, creating a comprehensive dataset for the region."
International Data Base
"The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more. The IDB has provided access to demographic data for over 25 years to governments, academics, other organizations, and the public."
KOF Index of Globalization
"Measures the three main dimensions of globalization: economic, social, and political. Data are available on a yearly basis for 208 countries over the period 1970-2007."
Access2Markets
General trade information on European Union exporters; trade barriers affecting EU exports. Formerly called Market Access Database.
Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online
"The Monthly Bulletin of Statistics Online presents current economic and social statistics for more than 200 countries and territories of the world."
National Bureau of Statistics of China
"As an agency directly under the State Council, the National Bureau of Statistics is in charge of statistics and economic accounting in China."
North American Free Trade Agreement
Full text of the NAFTA treaty and tariff schedules of US, Canada and Mexico.
Office of the United States Trade Representative
"The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) is responsible for developing and coordinating U.S. international trade, commodity, and direct investment policy, and overseeing negotiations with other countries. "
Population Dynamics Data from the United Nations
"Key demographic indicators for each UN development group, World Bank income group, geographic region, Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) region, subregion and country or area for selected periods or dates"
SESRIC: Statistical, Economic and Social Research and Training Centre for Islamic Countries
"SESRIC collates, processes and disseminates socio-economic statistics and information on and for the utilisation of the member countries."
SICE: the OAS Foreign Trade Information System
"Organization of American State's Foreign Trade Information System centralizes information on trade policy in the Americas. "
Statistics in Latin America: LANIC
"LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America."
Trade Data Online
"provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries."
TradeStats Express™
TradeStats Express displays the latest annual U.S. merchandise trade statistics - at national and state levels; in maps, graphs, and tables; as exports, imports, and trade balances; custom-tailored to your year and dollar ranges and display preferences."
UN COMTRADE - United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database
"United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database, the largest depository of international trade data containing over 1.1 billion data records."
UNECE Statistical Database
"The United Nations Economic Commission for Europe (UNECE) provides analysis, policy advice and assistance to governments, it gives focus to the United Nations global mandates in the economic field, in cooperation with other global players and key stakeholders, notably the business community."
National Trade Estimate Reports and more
"The Office of the U.S. Trade Representative produces reports throughout the year. Annual Reports include the FOIA report, the National Trade Estimate report, the Special 301 report, the Trade Policy Agenda and Annual Report."
WTO - Tariff Analysis Online
Detailed information on tariff and trade data pertaining to Regional Trade Agreements.
WTO | Economic research and analysis gateway - WTO Annual Report
"comprehensive overview of WTO activities over the past year and includes information on the WTO's budget and staffing"
WTO | Regional trade agreements
Searchable database of regional trade agreements

Culture

CIA - The World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Doing Business
"The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations and their enforcement across 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational and regional level."

Finance

Bank for International Settlements
"An international organisation which fosters international monetary and financial cooperation and serves as a bank for central banks." Covers publications and research; and statistics on banking, securities, derivatives, exchange rates, foreign exchange, external debt, and payment systems.
IMF Data and Statistics
"The IMF publishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates and other economic and financial indicators."
UNCTAD World Investment Reports
"Focuses on trends in foreign direct investment (FDI) worldwide, at the regional and country levels and emerging measures to improve its contribution to development"