LibGuides: Cultural Diversity in Business: Article Databases and other Resources

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals in a range of disciplines including language and literature, the arts, history, social sciences, etc.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest News & Newspapers, researchers can access news reports, editorials, advertisements, stock tables, and cartoons, from more than 3,000 of the world’s news sources, such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, The Guardian & Observer, The Globe and Mail, and more are open to discovery.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

How to Read a Scholarly Article Tutorial Link: brenau.libwizard.com/f/scholarlyarticle2020

Country and Cultural Information

CultureGrams World Edition This link opens in a new window CultureGrams provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. The reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available. World Edition-Cultural reports for more than 200 countries. Each includes 25 categories such as Land and Climate, History, Personal Appearance, Greetings, Dating and Marriage, Family, Diet, Housing, Holidays, Economy, Education, Health, and more.Type your country's name into the "Search within this publication box".
CultureGrams provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. The reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available. World Edition-Cultural reports for more than 200 countries. Each include 25 categories such as Land and Climate, History, Personal Appearance, Greetings, Dating and Marriage, Family, Diet, Housing, Holidays, Economy, Education, Health, and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

BBC Country Profiles
The BBC is the world's leading public service broadcaster. Its mission is to enrich people's lives with programs that inform, educate and entertain. BBC World Service broadcasts to the world on radio, on TV and online, providing news and information in 27 languages and world service English language. Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.

Select a country, territory or international organization from the menus.
CountryWatch Country Reviews
CountryWatch is an information provider for corporations, government agencies, and universities needing up-to-date information on each of the recognized countries of the world. It provides critical country-specific intelligence and data to clients including public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests. Its management has extensive international business experience and the members of the editorial department have strong academic backgrounds. The team has created this suite of products covering demographic, political, economic, business, cultural and environmental subject matter.

When the search loads, add your country's name (e.g. AND China) and limit the date range to the last few years.
Culture Crossing Guide
Culture Crossing is a global consulting organization dedicated to innovative solutions for people working in challenging global contexts. The company designs and facilitates programs for global executives and managers to build essential skills such as cross-cultural communication, leadership, team building, sustaining employee engagement, diversity and inclusion, and international recruiting and staffing. The Culture Crossing Guide is a database of cross-cultural information about every country in the world. The information is submitted by people who are either natives or residents (or former residents) of the featured countries. All of the information posted on the website is vetted by a Culture Crossing staff member and checked for credibility by cross referencing with at least two other sources. Brief, basic information is presented about social gestures and business.

Select your country from the drop-down menu.
CIA World Fact Book
The World Factbook, produced for US policymakers and coordinated throughout the US Intelligence Community, marshals facts on every country, dependency, and geographic entity in the world. It is used by a wide variety of people including US Government officials, researchers, and corporations. The Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. In addition to information on government, the economy, and communications, the Factbook provides extensive demographic information.

Business, Economics, & Politics

Country Commercial Guides
Look no further than the U.S. Commercial Service’s Country Commercial Guides, written by U.S. Embassy trade experts worldwide….. An excellent starting point for everything you need to know about exporting and doing business overseas detailing 8 important weigh stations on your export journey: business travel; market overview, challenges, opportunities & entry strategies; political environment; selling U.S. products and services; leading sectors for U.S. exports and investment; trade regulations, customs and standards; investment climate statement; trade and project financing.

Choose a country from the drop-down menu.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Current information from the US State Department about diplomatic and economic relations between the US and other countries.

Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Industry analysis for different global regions: click "Industry Analysis" tab, then select an industry and/or a global region, then click "Search."
Mergent Online offers a wealth of textual detail on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers and directors.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Suggested search terms:your country's name AND choose a search term from the assignment"South Korea" AND managementPakistan AND gender AND business"South Korea" AND "decision making" AND business"South Korea" AND corporate culture Pakistan AND "organizational behavior"Tips:using the left side toolbar, limit by Source Type to academic journals and trade journalsusing the left side toolbar, limit by date (last 5 years)using the left side toolbar, choose additional limiters under Subject try some of the terms found under Subject as search terms
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Suggested search terms: your country's name AND choose a search term from the assignment "South Korea" AND management Pakistan AND gender AND business "South Korea" AND "decision making" AND business "South Korea" AND corporate culture Pakistan AND "organizational behavior" Tips: using the left side toolbar, limit by date (last 5 years) using the left side toolbar, limit the Source Types to academic journals and trade publications using the left side toolbar, choose additional limiters under Subject: Thesaurus Term try some of the terms found under Subject: Thesaurus Term as search terms
Business Source Complete provides comprehensive coverage for all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Databases A-Z
Check here for additional sources.

Theory

Country Comparison of Hofstede's Cultural Dimensions
Compare country scores on Hofstede's 6 cultural dimensions.

Select a country in the dropdown menu to see the values for the 6 dimensions. After a first country has been selected, a second or third country can be chosen to see a comparison of their scores.
Hofstede's Country Comparison

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Suggested search terms:Hofstede AND dimensionsyour country's name AND Hofstede Hofstede AND dimensions AND "South Korea"your cultural dimension AND your country's name"uncertainty avoidance" AND Pakistan Kluckhohn AND Strodtbeck
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Suggested search terms:Hofstede AND dimensionsyour country's name AND HofstedeHofstede AND dimensions AND "South Korea"your cultural dimension AND your country's name)"uncertainty avoidance" AND PakistanKluckhohn AND Strodtbeck
Business Source Complete provides comprehensive coverage for all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

United Nations Global Issues

UN Global Issues