LibGuides: PY601 Psychology Research Methodology and Evaluation: Articles

Log Your Searching!

Research log form

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a resource when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text, View eBook, or View Now button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a book when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View eBook button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate a video when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Now button.

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subjects.

Psychology Databases

Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews, Clinical Answers, & Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window Mental health, developmental, psychosocial, and learning problems
Cochrane Library provides a collection of 6 databases that contain different types evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a 7th database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Cochrane Library includes over 1 million records of controlled trials, over 30,000 records of abstract and reviews of effect, and over 16,000 records of health technology assessments.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Covers topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications including clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Psychology Journals

Direct links to a few of the essential journals for psychology and clinical counseling. For more comprehensive information, search the databases above.

American Journal of Community Psychology Covers community and environmental psychology, personality and social psychology, clinical psychology, and health psychology.
Child Abuse Review Provides a forum for all professionals working in the field of child protection, giving them access to the latest research findings, practice developments, training initiatives & policy issues.
Clinical Psychology: Science & Practice Publishes topical reviews of research, theory and application, including assessment, intervention, service delivery, and professional issues.
Contemporary Sexuality Interdisciplinary journal devoted to promoting an understanding of human sexuality and healthy sexual behavior.
Journal of Abnormal Child Psychology Research on psychopathology in childhood and adolescence, with an emphasis on empirical studies of the major childhood disorders (the disruptive behavior disorders, depression, anxiety, and pervasive developmental disorders). Studies focus on the epidemiology, etiology, assessment, treatment, prognosis, follow-up, and developmental course of child and adolescent disorders.
Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis
Journal of Applied Psychology Original investigations that contribute new knowledge and understanding to fields of applied psychology. The journal primarily considers empirical and theoretical investigations that enhance understanding of cognitive, motivational, affective, and behavioral psychological phenomena.
Journal of Clinical Psychology Research studies; articles on contemporary professional issues, single case research; brief reports (including dissertations in brief); notes from the field; and news and notes. In addition to papers on psychopathology, psychodiagnostics, and the psychotherapeutic process, the journal welcomes articles focusing on psychotherapy effectiveness research, psychological assessment and treatment matching, clinical outcomes, clinical health psychology, and behavioral medicine.
Psychological Assessment Empirical research on measurement and evaluation relevant to the broad field of clinical psychology. Submissions are welcome in the areas of assessment processes and methods. Included are clinical judgment, and the application of decision-making models, paradigms derived from basic psychological research in cognition, personality–social psychology, and biological psychology, development, validation, and application of assessment instruments, observational methods, and interviews. The focus of the journal is the diagnosis and evaluation of psychological characteristics or processes and assessment of the effectiveness of interventions.
The Gerontologist
The Journals of Gerontology, Series A

Mulitdisciplinary Databases / Psychology

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Medical Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness, this database offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, and book excerpts.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
National Library of Medicine Databases & Resources This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window Drug abuse and alcoholism Special education and rehabilitation
Covers biological sciences, social sciences, business. Includes Population Studies, Statistics, Communicable Diseases, Allergology and Immunology, Biology - Genetics, Physical Fitness and Hygiene, Drug Abuse and Alcoholism, Environmental Studies

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to some full-text content from PubMed Central and the Brenau Trustee Library.

Theses and Dissertations

Looking for past Brenau master's student theses?

Try this search in the Brenau library catalog (search Brenau in the library catalog, then limit to Format--Thesis/Dissertation). This will show print theses and some online theses.

For newer online-only theses, try Dissertation Abstracts by ProQuest (link below). Go to Advanced Search and put Brenau in the University/Institution search box.

Dissertation Abstracts By ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses — Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

PY601 Psychology Research Methodology and Evaluation

Subject Guide - Norcross

Need an article or book that's not online?

Family Violence - Prevalence

Log Your Searching!

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Psychology Databases

Psychology Journals

Mulitdisciplinary Databases / Psychology

Medical Databases

Theses and Dissertations