Article Databases - EH 102 - Reading & Research Writing

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals in a range of disciplines including language and literature, the arts, history, social sciences, etc.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest News & Newspapers, researchers can access news reports, editorials, advertisements, stock tables, and cartoons, from more than 3,000 of the world’s news sources, such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, The Guardian & Observer, The Globe and Mail, and more are open to discovery.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

How to Read a Scholarly Article Tutorial Link: brenau.libwizard.com/f/scholarlyarticle2020

English Specific Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Arts & Humanities Database titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and consumer titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies. The subject strengths of the collection are art and design, interior design, anthropology, history, philosophy, modern languages and literature, music, theatre, film, and cultural studies.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals in a range of disciplines including language and literature, the arts, history, social sciences, etc.
Literary Reference Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center Plus includes thousands of plot summaries, synopses, and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; author biographies; full-text literary journals; book reviews; classic and contemporary poems and short stories; classic novels; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ProQuest One Literature This link opens in a new window
A full-text library of over 500,000 primary texts of British and American poetry, drama, and prose. In addition to literary texts, ProQuest One Literature includes biographical sketches of major writers, selected author bibliographies, and critical and reference works.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MLA International Bibliography - literature and language This link opens in a new window
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 1.8 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series, and 1,000 book publishers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

New Databases

Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a streaming video service that provides students and faculty access to a collection of over 8,000 films and documentaries in a wide range of subjects.
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Contains resources that present multiple sides of an issue and provides content that helps students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues, and develop analytical thinking skills.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MAS Complete This link opens in a new window
A research database that contains full text for hundreds of popular magazines and e-books covering news, politics, science, sports, culture and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Bibliography to all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language