LibGuides: Graduate Nursing: Overview

Subject Guide

Emily Thornton

Email Me

Contact:

Gainesville Campus, Trustee Library
OR
Norcross Campus, Room 448

(770) 531-3165

Need an article or book that's not online?

Information Delivery Form

Fill out our form to get articles or books that aren't available online.

Lead time is a few days to a few weeks.

Purpose

This guide is your gateway to resources in each of the eight essential areas of knowledge for nursing practice.

Best Bets

MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters. Searchable cited references for more than 1,200 journals are also included. Full text material includes 72 journals plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments, 300 evidence-based care sheets, and clinical trials.
Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more. Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more. Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews, Clinical Answers, & Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window is a collection of six databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration. Of particular interest are the Cochrane Reviews, systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy. They investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment, and rehabilitation. They also assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting.
PubMed This link opens in a new window Over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to some full-text content from PubMed Central and the Brenau Trustee Library.
AHRQ Evidence-Based Practice This link opens in a new window The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of health care in the United States. These reports provide comprehensive, science-based information on common, costly medical conditions and new health care technologies and strategies.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a resource when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text, View eBook, or View Now button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a book when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View eBook button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate a video when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Now button.

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subjects.

Nursing Guides

Advanced Pathophysiology HS771
by Emily Thornton Last Updated Jan 3, 2023 17 views this year

Nursing
by Kimberly Boyd Last Updated Feb 26, 2023 604 views this year

Professional Nursing (NG 315)
by Kimberly Boyd Last Updated Feb 26, 2023 49 views this year

Norcross Library Services Flyer

Norcross Nursing Library Services