LibGuides: Graduate Psychology: Start Your Research Here

Welcome

This guide helps you find the resources your professors expect you to use in your psychology program. You will find:

How-to videos and tutorials
Articles, databases, and books for scholarly psychology-related research
Specialized resources for specific classes and research areas
Support for APA citations and Zotero research management

Tutorials

Database Search Tips

Database Searching

Look for Advanced Search option
Combine search terms (AND)
Use alternative terms (OR)
Limit: peer-reviewed, publication date
Avoid limiting by full-text availability
Get better keywords from subject headings
Truncation/wildcard (adolesc*)

Citation Trails

Check introduction, lit review, and references of helpful articles
Use Google Scholar “cited by” for more recent

We Don’t Have It?

Copy-paste article title in library catalog and in Google Scholar
Request a copy from Interlibrary Loan

START HERE: Databases with General Psychology Content

These databases have a lot of articles on psychology research. They are a good place to start your search.

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology Database This link opens in a new window
Covers topics from leading psychology and psychosomatic publications including clinical and social psychology, genetics, psychology of business and economics, communication, criminology, addiction, neurology, social welfare, and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

Other Common Resources

Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsychiatryOnline.org This link opens in a new window
PsychiatryOnline (POL) creates a one-stop resource for information on diagnosis, treatment, guidelines, the latest research, and breaking news from the field. From a single location, you can access all APA journals, Psychiatric News, the DSM Library, and bestselling textbooks, as well as APA Practice Guidelines, and continuing medical education.
PsycTESTS This link opens in a new window
Authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Bibliography to all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

DSM-5-TR

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders by American Psychiatric Association
Publication Date: 2022
NEW ebook access
Also available in print at both Gainesville and Norcross campus libraries

Books

Most of your grad-level research will come from articles, dissertations, and government reports. These are found in the databases and resources linked above.

You will sometimes need books for historical context, background, overviews, or theory on a topic. Use the search box below to find print books and ebooks available through the Brenau library.

Your Librarian

Emily Thornton

Email Me

Contact:

Norcross Campus, Room 448
OR
Gainesville Campus, Trustee Library

(770) 531-3165