LibGuides: Nursing: Article Databases

Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
JSTOR Collections This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is an archive of scholarly journals in a range of disciplines including language and literature, the arts, history, social sciences, etc.
News & Newspapers This link opens in a new window
With ProQuest News & Newspapers, researchers can access news reports, editorials, advertisements, stock tables, and cartoons, from more than 3,000 of the world’s news sources, such as The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, The Guardian & Observer, The Globe and Mail, and more are open to discovery.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

How to Read a Scholarly Article Tutorial Link: brenau.libwizard.com/f/scholarlyarticle2020

DynaMed

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical information resource that provides evidence-based information at the point of care.

DynaMed provides evidence-based treatment recommendations with links to evidence and varying levels of recommendation strength. It also features patient education materials, physician expert review, practice-changing updates, and a mobile app.

DynaMed Mobile App Download Instructions
The DynaMed app is free for students and is compatible with iOS and Android devices.
Follow these steps to download the DynaMed mobile app. There are different instructions depending on whether you're on Brenau's campus or elsewhere.

DynaMed 2-Minute Overview Video
In a hurry? Start here.
DynaMed Tutorial Videos
Following a Topic, Claiming CME Credits and Hours, Creating a Personal Account

Nursing Articles and Journals

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness, this database offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, and book excerpts.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
BioMed Central: The Open Access Publisher This link opens in a new window
BioMed Central has successfully published over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine, and Health. BioMed is devoted to making scientific research freely accessible and discoverable through partnerships, innovation and collaboration with the scientific community.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews, Clinical Answers, & Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library provides a collection of 6 databases that contain different types evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a 7th database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Cochrane Library includes over 1 million records of controlled trials, over 30,000 records of abstract and reviews of effect, and over 16,000 records of health technology assessments.
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Merck Manual, Professional Version This link opens in a new window
Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.

Part of the database offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's virtual library.
National Library of Medicine Databases & Resources This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers biological sciences, social sciences, business. Includes Population Studies, Statistics, Communicable Diseases, Allergology and Immunology, Biology - Genetics, Physical Fitness and Hygiene, Drug Abuse and Alcoholism, Environmental Studies

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

Information for Patients

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Consumer Health Complete This link opens in a new window
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
MedlinePlus - at National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Additional Nursing Information

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Medical Journals

Advances in Biosciences & Clinical Medicine Full text coverage: 2013 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology Full Text: January 1995-present
British Medical Journal, International Edition All BMJ research articles are openly accessible online. All non-research articles published between 1840 and 2006 are also available free, but they do require registration.
Clinician Reviews Full Text:10/01/2006 to present
Evidence-Based Medicine Full text coverage: Dec 1995 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present (delayed 3 months)
Journal of Family Practice Full Text: 01/01/2004 to present
Maedica - a Journal of Clinical Medicine Full Text: 03/01/2007 to present
The New England Journal of Medicine Full text coverage: Jan 3, 1980 (Vol. 302, no. 1) - present (delayed 3 months)
Wound Medicine Full Text: July 2013-present
Annals of internal medicine Full Text: 10/01/1965 to present