This is the "Thesis Guide" page of the "Thesis Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Thesis Guide   Tags: research_help, term_papers, thesis  

Last Updated: Dec 8, 2016 URL: http://libguides.brenau.edu/thesis Print Guide RSS Updates
Thesis Guide Print Page
  Search: 
 

Electronic Thesis Guidelines

Instructions for the Electronic Publication of Theses

Brenau University publishes its graduate theses and projects through ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, which is the official digital dissertations archive for the Library of Congress. The collection includes work by authors from more than 1,700 graduate schools and universities the world over, and covers every conceivable subject. Every major research university in the United States and Canada is represented in the database and there is also a decent and growing international coverage.

  • Electronic Theses Submission Instructions - Departments
    Instructions to departments on how to submit theses for electronic publication.
  • Electronic Theses Submission Instructions - Students
    Instructions to students on how to submit theses for electronic publication.


    BOTH FORMS MUST BE RECEIVED BEFORE THE WORK CAN BE APPROVED FOR ELECTRONIC PUBLICATION.

  • Statement of Permission to Reproduce Thesis
    Students who upload theses into ProQuest ETD must also complete a Statement of Permission to Reproduce Thesis to verify that they understand how their materials may be reproduced as allowed under Copyright Law. This online form is directed to the library for record keeping purposes.
  • Checklist to Submit Electronic Thesis
    In order to verify completion of thesis requirements, the department will send the library a copy of the Checklist to Submit Electronic Dissertation form. This form is directed to the library to indicate that student theses are ready to publish.
 

How to Order Print Copies

Options for students who would like to obtain a print copy of their thesis:

NOTE:  Upon completion of thesis requirements the student will submit the thesis for electronic preservation to ProQuest Electronic Theses and Dissertations.  The library’s collection development policy prefers the acquisition of electronic resources over print in order to provide the most equitable access to all of Brenau’s academic community, both on and off campus; however students may have some reason to choose to have their theses bound.  In some circumstances the department may require hardbound copies of the thesis in addition to the copy provided to the library collection. 

Students who wish to upload their theses electronically are not obligated to provide a bound copy to the library.  Students who do not upload their theses electronically must provide a bound print copy to the library.

ProQuest - Order Personal Hardbound Copies

Students who upload their theses electronically may additionally purchase a bound print copy of their thesis through ProQuest during the upload process.  See Electronic Theses Submission Instructions - Students for more information.

HF Group (Thesis On Demand) - Order Personal Hardbound Copies & Send the Library a Hardbound Copy

Students who do not submit theses to ProQuest must use the HF Group’s Thesis On Demand (http://thesisondemand.com/) service to order hardbound copies. 

See the document Submitting a Thesis for Binding – Student Instructions for more details.

 

Avoiding the Potholes

 

Books About Thesis Writing

Cover Art
Finish Your Dissertation Once and for All! - Alison B. Miller
Call Number: MAIN LB2369 .M454 2009
ISBN: 1433804158
Publication Date: 2009
Combining psychological support with a project management approach that breaks tasks into small, manageable chunks, experienced dissertation coach Alison Miller shows you how to overcome negativity and succeed beyond your own expectations. You will learn how to plan and structure the dissertation process, work effectively with dissertation chairpersons and committees, and take care of yourself on the dissertation journey.

Cover Art
How to Write a Thesis - Rowena Murray
Call Number: ONLINE LB2369
ISBN: 0335244297
Publication Date: 2011
This book covers issues such as working out the criteria for your thesis, writer's block, writing a literature review, making notes into a draft and much more. The author introduces practical writing techniques such as freewriting, generative writing and binge writing as well as what to do when you have the end in sight and when it's all over.

Cover Art
Developing Quality Dissertations in the Social Sciences - Barbara E. Lovitts; Ellen L. Wert
Call Number: ONLINE LB2369 .L685 2009eb
ISBN: 1435697561
Publication Date: 2009
This book explains the purpose of the Social Sciences dissertation and the criteria by which it will be assessed. It helps students understand the context of their course work; the need to take an active role in shaping their studies; and the importance of thinking ahead about the components of the dissertation and the quality of scholarship they will need to demonstrate.

Cover Art
How to Write a Successful Science Thesis - William E. Russey; Hans F. Ebel; Claus Bliefert; Hans Friedrich Ebel
Call Number: MAIN LB2369 .R87 2006
ISBN: 9783527312986
Publication Date: 2006
Based on a proven concept that assumes no special talent for writing, the book will be of great value to both native and non-native speakers of English. The treatment is rich in examples and challenging problems (with solutions provided in an appendix), applicable either in conjunction with a course or for self-study.

Cover Art
Developing Quality Dissertations in the Humanities - Barbara E. Lovitts; Ellen L. Wert
Call Number: ONLINE LB2369 .L68 2009
ISBN: 9781579222604
Publication Date: 2009
This book explains the purpose of the Humanities dissertation and the criteria by which it will be assessed. It helps students understand the context of their course work; the need to take an active role in shaping their studies; and the importance of thinking ahead about the components of the dissertation and the quality of scholarship they will need to demonstrate.

Cover Art
Nurse's Step-By-Step Guide to Writing Your Dissertation or Capstone - Karen Roush
Call Number: ONLINE RT73 .R68 2015
ISBN: 9781940446103
Publication Date: 2015
Packed with practical steps and tools, this book will help you plan, document, organize, and write your dissertation or capstone.

Trustee Library

Profile Image
Trustee Library
Contact Info
625 Academy Street
Gainesville, GA 30501
P: 770-534-6113
F: 770-534-6254
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Robin Mize
 

Questions About Using a LibGuide???

How to Use a LibGuide Video  

A 2 minute video to get you started!
 

Suggest a Purchase

The Trustee Library welcomes suggestions for new purchases of books, DVDs and journals.

Send us your suggestions using our online Purchase Request form and we will consider your request.

 

Research Instruction

To evaluate the instruction you've received from the Library Faculty, please go to our survey.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip