LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: OT Databases & Journals

START HERE: Databases with General OT Content

These databases have a lot of articles on OT and other allied health fields. They are a good place to start your search.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers biological sciences, social sciences, business. Includes Population Studies, Statistics, Communicable Diseases, Allergology and Immunology, Biology - Genetics, Physical Fitness and Hygiene, Drug Abuse and Alcoholism, Environmental Studies

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
REHABDATA This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center. The database describes (indexes) over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).

Medical Databases with Some OT Content

These databases are primarily intended for medical research. If your OT topic overlaps with medical research, try searching these.

Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews, Clinical Answers, & Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library provides a collection of 6 databases that contain different types evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a 7th database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Cochrane Library includes over 1 million records of controlled trials, over 30,000 records of abstract and reviews of effect, and over 16,000 records of health technology assessments.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to some full-text content from PubMed Central and the Brenau Trustee Library.
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
National Library of Medicine Databases & Resources This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to healthcare and wellness, this database offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, and book excerpts.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MedlinePlus - at National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health This link opens in a new window
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical information resource that provides evidence-based information at the point of care.

Psychology Databases with Some OT Content

These databases are primarily intended for psychology research. If your OT topic overlaps with psychology research, try searching these.

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Education Databases with Some OT Content

These databases are primarily intended for education research. If your OT topic overlaps with education research, try searching these.

ERIC (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents regarding education literature and resources

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text education journals and an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's Virtual Library.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Education Database gives users access to over 1,020 top educational publications, including more than 640 of the titles in full text. Image articles include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on education topics.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Books

Most of your grad-level research will come from articles, dissertations, and government reports. These are found in the databases and resources linked above.

You will sometimes need books for historical context, background, overviews, or theory on a topic. Use the search box below to find print books and ebooks available through the Brenau library.

Database Search Tips

Database Searching

Look for Advanced Search option
Combine search terms (AND)
Use alternative terms (OR)
Limit: peer-reviewed, publication date
Avoid limiting by full-text availability
Get better keywords from subject headings
Truncation/wildcard (adolesc*)

Citation Trails

Check introduction, lit review, and references of helpful articles
Use Google Scholar “cited by” for more recent

We Don’t Have It?

OT Journals

These journals are all scholarly and peer-reviewed except OT Practice, which is a trade publication for practitioners.

AJOT "a peer-reviewed publication focusing on research examining the effectiveness and efficiency of occupational therapy practice so that occupational therapy and other health care professionals can make informed, evidence-based decisions in their practice. In addition, the journal aims to publish research documenting the reliability and validity of occupational therapy instruments; studies demonstrating a relationship between occupational engagement and the facilitation of community participation and health; and articles that provide a forum for scholars to debate professional issues that affect education, practice, and research."
AJOT through ProQuest Social Science Journals
Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. The Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation is the official journal of the ACRM | American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine, an organization focused on the creation and use of knowledge in the rehabilitation process. The Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation publishes original, peer-reviewed research and clinical reports on important trends and developments in medical rehabilitation and related fields. This international journal brings researchers and clinicians authoritative information on the therapeutic utilization of physical, behavioral, and pharmaceutical agents in providing comprehensive care for individuals with chronic illness and disabilities. The journal's content is relevant to all members of medical rehabilitation teams, including physicians, nurses, counselors, therapists, and case managers. The Archives is the most highly cited journal in Rehabilitation.
Australian Occupational Therapy Journal Last 5 years, Full Text. The Australian Occupational Therapy Journal is the official journal of Occupational Therapy Australia, and welcomes manuscripts relevant to the theory, research, practice and education of occupational therapy. The Journal aims to promote research and interdisciplinary communication, and provide a forum for discussion of issues relevant to occupational therapists.
British Journal of Occupational Therapy "BJOT is a monthly peer-reviewed journal presenting international research and practice related articles that contribute to the knowledge and evidence base of occupational therapy and encourage scholarly discussion and debate. BJOT is the only monthly peer-reviewed international occupational therapy journal."
Canadian Journal of Occupational Therapy "a professional peer reviewed scientific journal published five times a year - February, April, June, October & December. Since 1933, CJOT has fostered the advancement and growth of research, theory and practice in occupational therapy. The mission of the Journal is to advance excellence in occupational therapy research that informs education, practice and policy."
Journal of Hand Therapy The Journal functions as a source of education and information by publishing scientific and clinical articles. Regular features include original reports, clinical reviews, case studies, editorials, and book reviews.
Occupational Therapy in Health Care "Occupational Therapy in Health Care is a journal of contemporary practice in occupational therapy. It provides occupational therapy practitioners with a forum to stay up-to-date on current methods and theories in the field."
Occupational Therapy in Mental Health "Occupational Therapy in Mental Health provides professionals with a forum in which to discuss today's challenges–identifying the philosophical and conceptual foundations of the practice; sharing innovative evaluation and treatment techniques; learning about and assimilating new methodologies developing in related professions; and communicating information about new practice settings and special problem areas particular to psychiatric occupational therapy. All review papers in this journal have undergone editorial screening and peer review."
Open Journal of Occupational Therapy A new peer-reviewed, open-access journal publishing high quality articles focusing on applied research, guidelines for practice and technological guidelines.
OT Practice "OT Practice is NOT peer reviewed, but covers professional information on all aspects of occupational therapy practice today. Features include everything from hands-on techniques to continuing education, legislative issues to career advice and job opportunities, to the latest professional news."
OTJR: Occupation, Participation and Health "Published quarterly by the American Occupational Therapy Foundation, Inc., offers original research articles of professional interest to the practicing occupational therapist with a focus on occupation and fostering interdisciplinary research."
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics "recognized for its useful balance of research and clinical practice articles. For more than twenty five years Physical & Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics has functioned as a forum for allied health professionals as well as others with a focus on rehabilitation of the geriatric client to share information, clinical experience, research, and therapeutic practice. Each issue focuses on current practice and emerging issues in the care of the older client, including rehabilitation and long-term care in institutional and community settings, and innovative programming; the entire range of problems experienced by the elderly; and the current skills needed for working with older clients."
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics "Designed for PT and OT pediatric professionals in hospitals, rehabilitation centers, schools, and health and human services agencies, the journal provides the latest clinical research and practical applications... With an emphasis on implications and applications for therapy practice, the journal includes case reports, and reviews/critiques of new measures."

Medical Journals

Advances in Biosciences & Clinical Medicine Full text coverage: 2013 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology Full Text: January 1995-present
British Medical Journal, International Edition All BMJ research articles are openly accessible online. All non-research articles published between 1840 and 2006 are also available free, but they do require registration.
Clinician Reviews Full Text:10/01/2006 to present
Evidence-Based Medicine Full text coverage: Dec 1995 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present (delayed 3 months)
Journal of Family Practice Full Text: 01/01/2004 to present
Maedica - a Journal of Clinical Medicine Full Text: 03/01/2007 to present
The New England Journal of Medicine Full text coverage: Jan 3, 1980 (Vol. 302, no. 1) - present (delayed 3 months)
Wound Medicine Full Text: July 2013-present
Annals of internal medicine Full Text: 10/01/1965 to present

Your OT Librarian

Kathryn Junco

Email Me

Contact:

770-534-6193

Need an article or book that's not online?

Information Delivery Form

Fill out our form to get articles or books that aren't available online.

Lead time is a few days to a few weeks.