LibGuides: Physical Therapy: Evidence Based Practice

Tips on Searching and Reading Research

PT Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Over 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Includes links to some full-text content from PubMed Central and the Brenau Trustee Library.
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical information resource that provides evidence-based information at the point of care.
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews, Clinical Answers, & Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window Evidence-based practice articles and systematic reviews.
Cochrane Library provides a collection of 6 databases that contain different types evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a 7th database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Cochrane Library includes over 1 million records of controlled trials, over 30,000 records of abstract and reviews of effect, and over 16,000 records of health technology assessments.
Health and Medical Collection This link opens in a new window
Clinical and biomedical topics, including anatomy, physiology, biochemistry, pharmacology, microbiology, immunology, parasitology, pathology, communicable diseases, and cardiovascular diseases.

Part of the Database Offerings from GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of biology topics including biological chemistry, biophysics, botany, cytology and histology, environmental studies, microbiology, microscopy, physiology, and zoology. The database includes just under 400 titles, with more than 325 available in full text.

Part of the Database Offerings from GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers biological sciences, social sciences, business. Includes Population Studies, Statistics, Communicable Diseases, Allergology and Immunology, Biology - Genetics, Physical Fitness and Hygiene, Drug Abuse and Alcoholism, Environmental Studies

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
CIRRIE (merged with NARIC) This link opens in a new window
The CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research has been transferred to the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) and can be accessed at the Rehabdata by NARIC page.

Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange - 145,000 citations of international (only research conducted outside of the US) rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present.
National Library of Medicine Databases & Resources This link opens in a new window
The world’s largest biomedical library, NLM maintains and makes available a vast print collection and produces electronic information resources on a wide range of topics that are searched billions of times each year by millions of people around the globe. It also supports and conducts research, development, and training in biomedical informatics and health information technology.
PEDro This link opens in a new window
"...database of over 16,500 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice."
REHABDATA This link opens in a new window
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center. The database describes (indexes) over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.

PT Journals

Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. The Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation is the official journal of the ACRM | American Congress of Rehabilitation Medicine, an organization focused on the creation and use of knowledge in the rehabilitation process. The Archives of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation publishes original, peer-reviewed research and clinical reports on important trends and developments in medical rehabilitation and related fields. This international journal brings researchers and clinicians authoritative information on the therapeutic utilization of physical, behavioral, and pharmaceutical agents in providing comprehensive care for individuals with chronic illness and disabilities. The journal's content is relevant to all members of medical rehabilitation teams, including physicians, nurses, counselors, therapists, and case managers. The Archives is the most highly cited journal in Rehabilitation.
Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research A core journal devoted to disseminating new and important orthopaedic knowledge, Clinical Orthopaedics and Related Research® is a leading peer-reviewed orthopaedic journal and a publication of The Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons®. CORR® brings readers the latest clinical and basic research and informed opinions that shape today's orthopaedic practice, thereby providing an opportunity to practice evidence-based medicine. With contributions from leading clinicians and researchers around the world we aim to be the premier journal providing an international perspective advancing knowledge of the musculoskeletal system.
Clinical Rehabilitation Covering the whole field of disability and rehabilitation, this core peer-reviewed journal publishes research and discussion articles and acts as a forum for the international dissemination and exchange of information amongst the large number of professionals involved in rehabilitation.
Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy Journal of Geriatric Physical Therapy is the leading source of clinically applicable evidence for achieving optimal health, wellness, mobility, and physical function across the continuum of health status for the aging adult. The journal is affiliated with the Section on Geriatrics of the American Physical Therapy Association.
Journal of Orthopaedic & Sports Physical Therapy (JOSPT) Scientifically rigorous, clinically relevant content for members of the health care community to advance musculoskeletal and sports-related practice globally.
Journal of Physiotherapy (formerly the Australian Journal of Physiotherapy) This core journal is the official journal of the Australian Physiotherapy Association. The APA's vision is for the Journal to be the pre-eminent international publication of the science and practice of physiotherapy, and to deliver high-quality research in a fast-paced, technologically driven environment. All of the Journal’s original research papers and editorials are available.
Neurorehabilitation and Neural Repair Neurorehabilitation & Neural Repair (NNR) offers innovative and reliable reports relevant to functional recovery from neural injury and long term neurologic care. The journal's unique focus is evidence-based basic and clinical practice and research. NNR deals with the management and fundamental mechanisms of functional recovery from conditions such as stroke, multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer's disease, brain and spinal cord injuries, and peripheral nerve injuries.
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics "recognized for its useful balance of research and clinical practice articles. For more than twenty five years Physical & Occupational Therapy in Geriatrics has functioned as a forum for allied health professionals as well as others with a focus on rehabilitation of the geriatric client to share information, clinical experience, research, and therapeutic practice. Each issue focuses on current practice and emerging issues in the care of the older client, including rehabilitation and long-term care in institutional and community settings, and innovative programming; the entire range of problems experienced by the elderly; and the current skills needed for working with older clients."
Physical & Occupational Therapy in Pediatrics "Designed for PT and OT pediatric professionals in hospitals, rehabilitation centers, schools, and health and human services agencies, the journal provides the latest clinical research and practical applications... With an emphasis on implications and applications for therapy practice, the journal includes case reports, and reviews/critiques of new measures."
PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal - 1996-Present PTJ January 1996 [Vol. 76, no. 1] - [Present] Journal Interface is the top physical therapy core journal. As the leading international journal for research in physical therapy and related fields, PTJ publishes innovative and highly relevant content for both clinicians and scientists and uses a variety of interactive approaches to communicate that content, with the expressed purpose of improving patient care. PTJ is the official scientific journal of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) and the Royal Dutch Society for Physical Therapy (KNGF).
PTJ: Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Journal - 1996-2017 PTJ May 1996 [Vol. 76, no. 5] - Dec 2017 [Vol. 97, no. 12] ProQuest Interface - is the top physical therapy core journal. As the leading international journal for research in physical therapy and related fields, PTJ publishes innovative and highly relevant content for both clinicians and scientists and uses a variety of interactive approaches to communicate that content, with the expressed purpose of improving patient care. PTJ is the official scientific journal of the American Physical Therapy Association (APTA) and the Royal Dutch Society for Physical Therapy (KNGF).
Physiotherapy A core journal of the discipline, Physiotherapy aims to publish original research and facilitate continuing professional development for physiotherapists and other health professions worldwide. Dedicated to the advancement of physiotherapy through publication of research and scholarly work concerned with, but not limited to, its scientific basis and clinical application, education of practitioners, management of services and policy.
Physiotherapy Canada Physiotherapy Canada is the official, peer-reviewed journal of the Canadian Physiotherapy Association (CPA). Founded in 1923, this core journal gives direction to clinical science and reasoning, knowledge translation, therapeutic skills and patient-centered care in physiotherapy.
Stroke Stroke reports clinical and experimental information on the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of cerebrovascular diseases. Editorial features include: Original Contributions, Basic Science Advances for Clinicians, Emerging Therapy Critiques, Topical Reviews, Progress Reviews, Brief Reports, Case Reports, Comments and Opinions, Reviews, Editorials, Controversies in Stroke, and Cochrane Corner. Stroke is the #1 journal dedicated to the coverage of clinical research in cerebrovascular disease. The journal is ranked 5th in Peripheral Vascular Disease and 10th in Clinical Neurology subject categories.

Medical Journals

Advances in Biosciences & Clinical Medicine Full text coverage: 2013 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present
American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology Full Text: January 1995-present
British Medical Journal, International Edition All BMJ research articles are openly accessible online. All non-research articles published between 1840 and 2006 are also available free, but they do require registration.
Clinician Reviews Full Text:10/01/2006 to present
Evidence-Based Medicine Full text coverage: Dec 1995 (Vol. 1, no. 1) - present (delayed 3 months)
Journal of Family Practice Full Text: 01/01/2004 to present
Maedica - a Journal of Clinical Medicine Full Text: 03/01/2007 to present
The New England Journal of Medicine Full text coverage: Jan 3, 1980 (Vol. 302, no. 1) - present (delayed 3 months)
Wound Medicine Full Text: July 2013-present
Annals of internal medicine Full Text: 10/01/1965 to present

Psychology Databases

PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
Social Science Database provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Google Scholar

The Scholar link below provides access to full text that the Library has paid for. To set up your personal Google Scholar interface to search Brenau databases every time without coming here first, navigate to https://scholar.google.com/ . Click the 3 horizontal lines at top-left, then Settings, then Library Links, and search for Brenau.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles.

Evidence-Based Practice

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM)
American Academy of Pediatrics
ClinicalTrials.gov registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world. ClinicalTrials.gov gives you information about a trial's purpose, who may participate, locations, and phone numbers for more details. This information should be used in conjunction with advice from health care professionals
DARE DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) is focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organisation of health services. The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health. Published in the CRD Database by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York
Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases | University of Michigan Health System
Institute for Work & Health | Research excellence advancing employee health Evidence based information about health and safety in the workplace
International Journal of Psychsocial Rehabilitation
TRIP Database: Evidence Based Medicine "The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice."

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a resource when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text, View eBook, or View Now button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a book when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View eBook button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate a video when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Now button.

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subjects.

Physical Therapy

Librarian

Need an Article?

Tips on Searching and Reading Research

PT Databases

PT Journals

Medical Journals

Psychology Databases

Google Scholar

Evidence-Based Practice

Got the Citation? Find the Resource