LibGuides: Occupational Therapy: Clinical Resources

Videos

ICE Learning Center This link opens in a new window
Innovative streaming video collections, of real patients and therapists, created to inspire clinical excellence for faculty, students and clinicians in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs.

Evidence-Based Practice Web Sites and Web databases

ClinicalTrials.gov Registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world, including those published in AJOT and over 25 other rehabilitation publications.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM)
American Academy of Pediatrics

CIRRIE (merged with NARIC) This link opens in a new window
The CIRRIE Database of International Rehabilitation Research has been transferred to the National Rehabilitation Information Center (NARIC) and can be accessed at the Rehabdata by NARIC page.

Center for International Rehabilitation Research Information and Exchange - 145,000 citations of international (only research conducted outside of the US) rehabilitation research published between 1990 and the present.

DARE DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) is focused primarily on systematic reviews that evaluate the effects of health care interventions and the delivery and organisation of health services. The database also includes reviews of the wider determinants of health such as housing, transport, and social care where these impact directly on health, or have the potential to impact on health. Published in the CRD Database by the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination at the University of York
Department of Pediatrics and Communicable Diseases | University of Michigan Health System
Evidence-Based Practice & Research
Institute for Work & Health | Research excellence advancing employee health Evidence based information about health and safety in the workplace
International Journal of Psychsocial Rehabilitation
OT seeker "...database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews and randomised controlled trials relevant to occupational therapy. Trials have been critically appraised and rated to assist you to evaluate their validity and interpretability. These ratings will help you to judge the quality and usefulness of trials for informing clinical interventions. In one database, OTseeker provides you with fast and easy access to trials from a wide range of sources."

PEDro This link opens in a new window
"...database of over 16,500 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice."

Pathways Research and Training Center
RehabDATA "...produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center... the database describes over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. "
TRIP Database: Evidence Based Medicine
"The TRIP Database is a clinical search tool designed to allow health professionals to rapidly identify the highest quality clinical evidence for clinical practice."

Occupational Justice

ADA Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities (ADAAG)
scoping and technical requirements for accessibility to buildings and facilities by individuals with disabilities under the Americans with Disabilities Act
ADA Standards for Accessible Design
ada.gov - Information and Technical Assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act
IDEA Website "U.S. Department of Education’s Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) website, which brings together IDEA information and resources from the Department and our grantees."
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The mission of the Bureau of Justice Statistics is to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.
Disability Rights Education and Defense Fund
DO-IT
DO-IT serves to increase the success of individuals with disabilities in challenging academic programs and careers. It promotes the use of computer and networking technologies to increase independence, productivity, and participation in education and employment.
GA ADA Coordinator
Georgia Accessibility Code
Georgia Public Health Data and Statistics
"The Georgia Department of Public Health has two ways to access Georgia’s public health data:
The Online Analytical Statistical Information System (OASIS) is a web-based tool that will allow you to access publicly available health data and statistics for the state of Georgia
The Public Health Information Portal (PHIP) is an online data request system that will allow you to request data from the Department of Public Health that is not available on OASIS."
Global Health Global health and health policy information
The Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation - Health Policy, Media Resources, Public Health Education "a non-partisan source of facts, information, and analysis for policymakers, the media, the health care community, and the public. Our product is information, always provided free of charge — from the most sophisticated policy research, to basic facts and numbers..."
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) the text of the Act
Disability Rights International Disability Rights Are Human Rights
National Center for Health Statistics
"As the Nation's principal health statistics agency, we compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of our people."
The Office of Minority Health
"The mission of the Office of Minority Health (OMH) is to improve and protect the health of racial and ethnic minority populations through the development of health policies and programs that will eliminate health disparities."
State Health Facts "a project of the Henry J. Kaiser Family Foundation and is designed to provide free, up-to-date, and easy-to-use health data on all 50 states."
UNdata "This portal combines 15 databases and 55 million records from different UN agencies. Major topics include agriculture, employment, education, energy, environment, health, human development, industry, info technology, population, refugees, & trade."
United States Department of Justice
US Census Bureau Facts and statistics about the people of the United States
World Institute on Disability The mission of the World Institute on Disability (WID) in communities and nations worldwide is to eliminate barriers to full social integration and increase employment, economic security and health care for persons with disabilities. WID creates innovative programs and tools; conducts research, public education, training and advocacy campaigns; and provides technical assistance.

Disabilities

CODI: Cornucopia of Disability Information
"CODI serves as a community resource for consumers and professionals by providing disability information in a wide variety of areas. It consists of both an Internet Directory of Disability Information and a repository of electronic disability documents, dating back to the early 1990s. Many of the documents on CODI are publicly available nowhere else on the Internet."
National Council on Disability
"NCD is an independent federal agency and is composed of 15 members appointed by the President, by and with the advice and consent of the Senate. It provides advice to the President, Congress, and executive branch agencies to promote policies, programs, practices, and procedures that guarantee equal opportunity for all individuals with disabilities, regardless of the nature or severity of the disability and to empower individuals with disabilities to achieve economic self-sufficiency...."
National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR) "The National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR) provides leadership and support for a comprehensive program of research related to the rehabilitation of individuals with disabilities. All of our programmatic efforts are aimed at improving the lives of individuals with disabilities from birth through adulthood."
American Association on Health & Disability

Childhood, Child Development, and Developmental Disability

American Academy for Cerebral Palsy and Developmental Medicine (AACPDM)
Autism Society of America
CanChild Centre for Childhood Disability Research
Futures Without Violence
HRSA: Maternal and Child Health Bureau
Learning Disabilities Association of America "n March of 1963, parents of children with learning disabilities representing local support groups from around the country gathered in Chicago for a national conference. These concerned families organized into a national organization which was incorporated in 1964 as the Association for Children with Learning Disabilities (ACLD). From those beginnings, the Learning Disabilities Association of America has grown to serve tens of thousands of members with learning disabilities, their families and t
Make-A-Wish Foundation
National Center for Learning Disabilities "Our Mission: To ensure that the nation's 15 million children, adolescents, and adults with learning disabilities have every opportunity to succeed in school, work, and life."
Center for Parent Information & Resources A central hub of information and products created for the network of Parent Centers serving families of children with disabilities.
NICHD - The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development
Society for Research in Child Development
The Federation for Children with Special Needs
United Cerebral Palsy
Zero to Three

Older Adults / Aging

Stroke

Assistive Technology, Seating, and Mobility

AbleNet: Products and Services for Persons with Disabilities
Adaptive Technology Resource Centre
Beneficial Designs, Inc.
Canadian Seating & Mobility Conference
Ergoweb - The Place for Ergonomics "Welcome to Ergoweb, the number one source for ergonomics. We deliver consulting and training services, publish loads of industry news and information, and host the world's largest ergonomics specific collaboration and discussion community."
International Seating Symposium
National Registry of Rehabilitation Technology Suppliers
Quartet Technology, Inc.
RESNA
Tobii "Tobii is the world’s leading vendor of eye tracking and eye control: a technology that makes it possible for computers to know exactly where users are looking."
Trace Research and Development Center
WheelchairNet A virtual community of people who care about wheelchairs.

Mental Health

American Academy of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry
American Psychiatric Association
Center for Psychiatric Rehabilitation
Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance
Mental Health America: Welcome to Mental Health America
NAMI: National Alliance on Mental Illness
NARSAD The World's Leading Charity Dedicated to Mental Health Research

AIDS

AIDSinfo - HIV / AIDS Information
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention HIV/AIDS "As a part of its overall public health mission, CDC provides leadership in helping control the HIV/AIDS epidemic by working with community, state, national, and international partners in surveillance, research, and prevention and evaluation activities. These activities are critically important because CDC estimates that about 1.1 million Americans are living with HIV, and that 21% of these persons do not know they are infected."
CDC National Prevention Information Network (NPIN)- HIV, Viral Hepatitis, STD and Tuberculosis (TB)
WHO HIV/AIDS "The World Health Organization (WHO) HIV/AIDS Department provides evidence-based, technical support to WHO Member States to help them scale up treatment, care and prevention services as well as drugs and diagnostics supply to ensure a comprehensive and sustainable response to HIV/AIDS. WHO is a Cosponsor of UNAIDS."

Your OT Librarian

Emily Thornton

Email Me

Contact:

Norcross Campus, Room 448
OR
Gainesville Campus, Trustee Library

(770) 531-3165