LibGuides: Graduate Nursing: Reference Books

General Nursing Reference eBooks

Nursing Diagnosis Handbook by Ackley; Ladwig; Flynn Makic
Publication Date: 2016
Nursing Health Assessment by Dillon
Publication Date: 2015
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference
Publication Date: 2018
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research by Fitzpatrick
Publication Date: 2017
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Mosby's 2019 Nursing Drug Reference
Publication Date: 2019
Legal and Ethical Issues for Health Professionals by George D. Pozgar
Publication Date: 2019

Nursing Theory Books

Print Books

Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by Janie B. Butts; Karen L. Rich
Call Number: RT42 .P56 2022
Publication Date: 2022
This is a print version of the 2022 textbook used for NG701 Theoretical Foundations. It is located in the librarian's office on the North Atlanta (Norcross) campus. It's available whenever the librarian is present, unless another student has already checked it out.
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by Mary Jane Smith; Patricia R. Liehr
Call Number: RT84.5 .M357 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This book describes 13 different nursing theories. It is located in the librarian's office on the North Atlanta (Norcross) campus. It's available whenever the librarian is present, unless another student has already checked it out.
Nursing Theorists and Their Work by Martha Raile Alligood
Call Number: RT84.5 .N9 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This book provides an in-depth look at 39 nursing theorists. It is located in the librarian's office on the North Atlanta (Norcross) campus. It's available whenever the librarian is present, unless another student has already checked it out.

Ebooks

Philosophies and Theories for Advanced Nursing Practice by Janie B. Butts; Karen L. Rich
Publication Date: 2011
This is an older ebook version of the textbook used in NG701 Theoretical Foundations.
Middle Range Theory for Nursing by Mary Jane Smith; Patricia R. Liehr
Publication Date: 2013
This is an older ebook version of a nursing theory book. It describes many different nursing theories.
Nursing knowledge and theory innovation : advancing the science of practice by Pamela G. Reed, Nelma B. Crawford Shearer, editors.
Publication Date: 2018
Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research

Brenau library catalog search with more nursing theory resources

Research Methods eBooks for Nursing

Research for Advanced Practice Nurses: From Evidence to Practice by Murphy; Staffileno; Foreman
Publication Date: 2018
Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare by Holloway; Galvin
Publication Date: 2017
Quantitative Methods for Health Research by Bruce; Pope; Stanistreet
Publication Date: 2018

Library Catalog

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. If the full text is available online, you will be linked to the full text.
To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box.
Items available online will have an Access Online button.

When to Use What Resources

Books are discoverable in the library catalog and located in the library or online.

Books are the best source to find information that is:

Historical overview of a subject or topic
Explanation of theory
Background information on a subject
A broad analysis of a topic

Articles are discoverable in the library catalog and located in the library or online

Articles are the best source to find information that is:

Current research (even though it may be incomplete)
Narrow analysis of a singular topic
Original research

Smart Googling

The internet is best used to locate the following types of information:

Current news and events
Statistics
Current and ongoing educational studies

Your Librarian

Emily Thornton

Email Me

Contact:

Norcross Campus, Room 448
OR
Gainesville Campus, Trustee Library

(770) 531-3165

Graduate Nursing: Reference Books

Reference Books for Nursing