LibGuides: Graduate Education: ED612 Instructional Planning and Assessment

Purpose

This Research Guide will help you to complete the research for your assignments for this class.

Assignment

The 3 assignments are locating and referencing a peer reviewed article, published in the last 5 years, on each the following topics

an article on a general description of curriculum related to early childhood or middle grades or secondary levels.
an article from one of the four main content areas:
1. mathematics
2. science
3. language arts or
4. social studies
an article of your choice/interest on educational assessment

You will write a one-page, single-spaced review as described in the assignment, beginning with an APA style reference entry, followed by a summary of the article, and ending with how you can use the knowledge in the instruction of you students.

Best Bets for Research on these Topics

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text education journals and an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's Virtual Library.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Specialized collection of journal articles and pamphlets especially for professional educators that includes abstract and index coverage for 800 professional development titles and searchable full text for over 500 journals covering the most current topics in the field of education. This database also provides full text for more than 160 education pamphlets.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Education Database gives users access to over 1,020 top educational publications, including more than 640 of the titles in full text. Image articles include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on education topics.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ERIC (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents regarding education literature and resources

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

Search Terms

Try these!

curriculum AND "middle school"

reading AND elementary

mathematics AND teaching AND "high school"

elementary AND students AND assessment

"special education" AND writing

"problem based learning" AND "high school"

Be Intentional!

Search intentionally! Don't wander.

What is the purpose of the assignment?
Why do I need the information?
What information do I need to find to complete the assignment?
Are there date or other criteria (peer reviewed) for the information?

Read intentionally too!

What is my purpose for reading?
What do I already know about the topic (build on that).
What questions must I answer to accomplish my purpose?
What are the main ideas of the article?
What conclusions can I draw to use this information when I teach?

Your Librarian

Micki Waldrop

Email Me

Contact:

Brenau Trustee Library
625 Academy St NE
Gainesville, GA 30501
mwaldrop1@brenau.edu

770.538.4737