LibGuides: Graduate Education: Articles, Dissertations & Books

Welcome

This guide helps you find the resources your professors expect you to use in your education program. You will find:

How-to videos and tutorials
Articles, databases, and books for scholarly education-related research
Specialized resources for specific education areas
Support for APA citations and Zotero research management

How-To Videos

Tutorial: Basic Searching for Education Articles
Quick introduction to finding scholarly education articles at Brenau, with short videos and hands-on practice.
Tutorial: Advanced Searching for Education Articles
Expands on previous Basic Searching tutorial, with more depth and more resources.
Tutorial: Finding Dissertations for EdD
Video and hands-on practice to find dissertations to use as models for your EdD project.
Intro to Library and Zotero for Grad Ed Students
Overview of how the library and this libguide can help you (7 min), then a demonstration of why Zotero is a useful tool (4 min).

Database Search Tips

Database Searching

Look for Advanced Search option
Combine search terms (AND)
Use alternative terms (OR)
Limit: peer-reviewed, publication date
Avoid limiting by full-text availability
Get better keywords from subject headings
Truncation/wildcard (adolesc*)

Citation Trails

Check introduction, lit review, and references of helpful articles
Use Google Scholar “cited by” for more recent

We Don’t Have It?

Copy-paste article title in library catalog and in Google Scholar
Request a copy from Interlibrary Loan

START HERE: Databases with General Education Content

These databases have a lot of articles on education research. They are a good place to start your search.

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text education journals and an international array of English-language periodicals, monographs, and yearbooks. It covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, as well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia's Virtual Library.
ERIC (at EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
ERIC®, the Education Resource Information Center, contains more than 1.4 million records and links to more than 337,000 full-text documents regarding education literature and resources

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Education Database gives users access to over 1,020 top educational publications, including more than 640 of the titles in full text. Image articles include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on education topics.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

Other Common Resources

These resources are often used for special-purpose research, in addition to the major databases listed above. For more guidance, see the Specialized Research tab above.

Dissertation Abstracts By ProQuest Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Large collection of dissertations on many topics. Useful to see recent research or find models for your EdD dissertation.
PQDT — Full Text includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Over 2.1 million titles are available for purchase as printed copies. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses — Full Text also offers researchers unlimited access to digital copies from their own institutions as well as affordable copies from others.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Some education topics overlap with psychology research. Search your topic in this major psychology database to get the psych perspective.
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Collection of legal cases, laws, news, and more. Useful for legal issues classes and more. See Your Classes tab above for specific assignment guidance.
News, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Useful *after* you've already searched in subject-specific databases. Look up known articles to find full-text access and see who else has cited this research. Resist the temptation to start your research process here. It is very difficult to refine your search results and filter to high-quality information.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts, and articles.

Statistics from Federal NCES
Statistics help to illustrate why your proposed research topic is significant and urgent.
More Education Databases
More Psychology Databases

Books

Most of your grad-level research will come from articles, dissertations, and government reports. These are found in the databases and resources linked above.

You will sometimes need books for historical context, background, overviews, or theory on a topic. Use the search box below to find print books and ebooks available through the Brenau library.

Librarian

Micki Waldrop

Email Me

Contact:

Brenau Trustee Library
625 Academy St NE
Gainesville, GA 30501
mwaldrop1@brenau.edu

770.538.4737