Finding Sources - PY 301 - Research Methods - LibGuides at Brenau University

Overview

For this paper, you will need to find scholarly articles, statistics, and assessment validation. This page lists a few recommended places to search for these sources. See the Psychology guide for more.

Remember to apply the CRAAP test to evaluate your source: is it current? Is it relevant to your project? Who is the author, and why should we rely on them for this? Is it accurate and backed up with cited evidence? Finally, what is the purpose--is it sharing scientific research, or trying to persuade someone?

Subject Specific Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Bibliography to all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window From the APA, includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window articles from full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, Human sexuality, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window From the APA, the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 98% is peer-reviewed. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, etc.
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers biological sciences, social sciences, business. Includes Population Studies, Statistics, Communicable Diseases, Allergology and Immunology, Biology - Genetics, Physical Fitness and Hygiene, Drug Abuse and Alcoholism, Environmental Studies

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text.
Social Science Database provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Best Psychology Websites

APA Psychology Topics
"Based in Washington, D.C., the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With more than 154,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide."
National Alliance on Mental Illness
"From its inception in 1979, NAMI has been dedicated to improving the lives of individuals and families affected by mental illness. For three decades, NAMI has established itself as the most formidable grassroots mental health advocacy organization in the country. Dedication, steadfast commitment and unceasing belief in NAMI's mission by grassroots advocates have produced profound changes."
National Center for PTSD
"The Center aims to help U.S. Veterans and others through research, education, and training on trauma and PTSD."
NIMH Health Topics
"The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure. For the Institute to continue fulfilling this vital public health mission, it must foster innovative thinking and ensure that a full array of novel scientific perspectives are used to further discovery in the evolving science of brain, behavior, and experience."
Peer-Reviewed Developmental Psychology Journals
"Find peer-reviewed journals that publish Developmental Psychology. Journal descriptions are excerpts from their websites; impact factors are from Thomson Scientific's 2007 Journal Citation Reports (higher numbers means a greater number of average citations of new papers in the following 2 years)."
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
"The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's (SAMHSA) mission is to reduce the impact of substance abuse and mental illness on America's communities."
The Secret Life of the Brain
"Reveals the fascinating processes involved in brain development across a lifetime. The five-part series, which premiered nationally on PBS in winter 2002, informs viewers of exciting new information in the brain sciences, introduces the foremost researchers in the field, and utilizes dynamic visual imagery and compelling human stories to help a general audience understand otherwise difficult scientific concepts."

Assessment Databases

You will need to show that the assessment (test/measure/scale/whatever) is valid, so it actually measures what it's trying to measure. You can search for this in a psychology database by searching for the name of the assessment AND valid*

You can also check for this in the Mental Measurements Yearbook. This is a print book set in the Reference section of the Trustee Library (REF BF176 .B87). You can check which volume might have your assessment at this website: https://buros.org/tests-reviewed-mental-measurements-yearbook-series . Tip: press CRTL-F and search the name of your assessment to find it on the page.

Freebie for anyone using Social Readjustment Rating Scale:

The official name of the test is the Social Readjustment Rating Scale or the Holmes-Rahe Stress Inventory. Neither of these names appear in the MMY so you will have to use the databases to seek validation studies in the databases. When looking for validation it is easier to find information using Holmes Rahe than SRRS.

PY 301 - Research Methods

Subject Guide

Overview

Subject Specific Article Databases

Best Psychology Websites

Assessment Databases

Librarian Presentation