LibGuides: Interior Design: Historic Preservation

Outstanding Sources

Built in America This link opens in a new window
These collections document achievements in architecture, engineering, and landscape design in the United States and its territories through a comprehensive range of building types, engineering technologies, and landscapes.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Includes Architectural Digest, Architectural Record, Art History, Arts Education Policy Review, Grey Room, Housing, Theory, and Society, International Journal of Art and Design Education, Greener Management International, Home Cultures, Local Environment, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Design for Arts in Education, Journal of Art and Design Education, and Sustainable Development Law & Policy.
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Includes Hospitality Design, Greener Management International, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Interior Design, International Construction, Sustainability, Sustainable Development, Kitchen and Bath Design News, and Kitchen and Bath Business.
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Andrew Dickson White Collection of Architectural Photographs This link opens in a new window
The Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections, Cornell University Library, is home to the Andrew Dickson White Architectural Photographs Collection of approximately 13,000 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century photographs of architecture, decorative arts and sculpture.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window Includes Greener Management International, Conservation and Society, and Local Environment
This resource offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete™ contains more than 2.5 million records from more than 2,350 domestic and international titles dating back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles). The database contains full text for more than 930 journals, including many of the most used journals in the discipline.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Historic Architecture and Landscapes of Georgia: The Hubert Bond Owens and John Linley Image Collections at the Owens Library

Oxford Art Online - formerly Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Art Online, a collection of art encyclopedias and image collections. Additional content includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Research Library By ProQuest This link opens in a new window Includes Architectural Digest, Conservation and Society, International Journal of Sustainable Development and World Ecology, I.D., Sustainability, Classic American Homes, Interior Design, and Interiors.
ProQuest Research Library™ provides access to more than 5,060 titles —over 3,600 in full text— on a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database features a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a resource when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text, View eBook, or View Now button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a book when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View eBook button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate a video when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Now button.

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subjects.

Web Sites

ArchNet Digital Library
a digital image collection for "architects, planners, urban designers, landscape architects, conservationists, and scholars, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilisations."
ArtServe at the Australian National University: http://rubens.anu.edu.au
Images of "art & architecture mainly from the Mediterranean Basin, Japan and now India."
Georgia DNR, Historic Preservation Division
"The Historic Preservation Division works in partnership with federal and state agencies, local governments, preservation organizations, community groups and individuals to achieve a greater appreciation and use of historic resources in the context of everyday life. Working at the state level, the Historic Preservation Division helps bring together national, regional and local interests to support community and economic development throughout Georgia."
International Archive of Women in Architecture
"Collections include the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, and urban planners, and the records of architectural organizations for women."
Ornament and Pattern: Pre-Victorian to Art Deco
"Several thousand images from nearly 100 volumes on decorative art and surface ornament, mainly portfolios of plates, pattern books, and scrapbook compilations."
PreservationDirectory.com
Historic Preservation and Cultural Resource Management Resources and Research Tools for Historical Societies, Organizations and the General Public
Theatre Historical Society of America
"THS is the only organization in the U.S. which exclusively records and preserves the rich architectural, cultural and social history of America's theatres. Through its collections and publications, THS makes available information on more than 15,000 theatres, primarily in the United States, and encourages further research in these areas."
Miami Metropolitan Archive
The site is intended to provide free access to published government sources, beginning with the founding of the city in 1896 up to 1956. Included are traditional planning documents with difficult to find locally collected data, such as land use plans, government property inventories, and environmental impact statements.

Subject Guide

Kathryn Junco

Email Me

Contact:

770-534-6193