LibGuides: Business Overview: Human Resources

Human Resources Article Databases

Some of the best collections of Human Resources articles are linked below!

ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Central brings together 30 highly used ProQuest databases to create the largest single academic research resource. Researchers can choose to search individual databases for targeted research or search all at once to find relevant results and information from other disciplines. This allows cross-searching with other ProQuest business resources as well as creation of RSS feeds, content alerts, Smart Search, article linking, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings from GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window
Aside from the ability to search and browse for articles in over 4000 business journals, the Interface allows for easy browsing of supplementary content such as, company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and author profiles. It contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of other scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Professional Resources

Academy of Human Resource Development
"formed to encourage systematic study of human resource development (HRD) theories, processes, and practices; to disseminate information about HRD; to encourage the application of HRD research findings; and to provide opportunities for social interaction among individuals with scholarly and professional interests in HRD from multiple disciplines and from across the globe."
HRCI | HR Certification Institute
develops and delivers credentialing programs to validate mastery in the field of human resource management and to promote organizational effectiveness." PHR-SPHR-GPHR Certification
ISPI | International Society for Performance Improvement
"leading international association dedicated to improving productivity and performance in the workplace. ISPI's mission is to develop and recognize the proficiency of our members and advocate the use of Human Performance Technology.
SHRM - Foothills of GA Chapter
"Our mission is to serve the professional development and networking needs of human resource professionals and service providers at all levels in the profession by providing the most essential and comprehensive resources available."
SHRM-Atlanta
"SHRM-Atlanta seeks to promote the professionalism of the Human Resources Management field by offering members a wide variety of professional development opportunities and a common forum in which to share ideas and experiences."
Society for Human Resource Management
"world’s largest association devoted to human resource management"
The Organization Development Institute
"a non-profit educational association organized in 1968 to promote an understanding of O.D. Every year we publish The International Registry of O.D. Professionals and O.D. Handbook which lists not just names and addresses but also the credentials of all those registered with us. We include information on all OD/OB academic programs, O.D. Networks worldwide and the most recent edition of the International O.D. Code of Ethics."

General Information

EEOC - U. S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
"responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person's race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy), national origin, age (40 or older), disability or genetic information."
U.S. Department of Labor
"fosters and promotes the welfare of the job seekers, wage earners, and retirees of the United States by improving their working conditions, advancing their opportunities for profitable employment, protecting their retirement and health care benefits, helping employers find workers, strengthening free collective bargaining, and tracking changes in employment, prices, and other national economic measurements."

Cultural Diversity

CIA World Factbook
"The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."
WorldWide Classroom: About Culture Shock
"Culture shock is precipitated by the anxiety that results from losing all familiar signs and symbols of social intercourse..."

Statistics

Employee Benefits Survey
"National Compensation Survey - Benefits produces comprehensive data on the incidence (the percentage of workers with access to and participation in employer provided benefit plans) and provisions of selected employee benefit plans."
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
"principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Our mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision–making."