Occupational Therapy: Specific OT Classes

These tutorials may help you in OT 613 (Introduction to Scholarship) and OT 611 (Research Methods for EBP). You'll use these concepts and more in OT 711/721 (Scholarly Study).

These resources will help you synthesize different sources and write a literature review in OT 711 & OT 721 (Scholarly Study 1 & 2).

These resources were used in OT 611/613. You may want to revisit these as a refresher for OT 711/721.

Tips for your annotated bibliography on interprofessional care teams: 

• Search the databases listed on the main page of this libguide.
  • CINAHL Plus is a good starting point, or Nursing & Allied Health Database.
  • Select "Advanced Search" before you start searching. This will let you combine search terms.
• Combine search terms
  • In the first search box, type interprofessional
  • In the second search box, type words that describe your preferred population or setting. Example: if your capstone project is about children, type pediatric OR child OR adolescent. If your project is about rural healthcare settings, type rural. 
  • This should look for articles about interprofessional care in your preferred population/setting. 
• Skim the search results and assess what you're finding.
  • Tons of relevant-seeming search results? You have the luxury of narrowing it further. Options:
    • Look for OT-specific articles
      • Add another search box. Look for occupational therapist OR ot in the third search box, along with the terms you already tried. Note: you may find zero search results when you narrow it that much. That is okay. Your articles aren't required to talk about OTs specifically--this would just be a nice extra if they're available.
    • Filter to peer-reviewed only
      • Go to the filters on the left. Filter to peer-reviewed articles only. (Note: in CINAHL you have to click Show More under the publication date filter to get this option)
    • Filter to full-text only
      • Go to the filters on the left. Filter to full-text articles to show items with immediate access. (Note: the library can help you access articles that we don't own in full-text).
  • Not enough relevant-seeming articles?
    • Think of alternative or broader terms to describe your setting/population.
    • If there's even one relevant-seeming article, open it and read its first couple pages. This might be called introduction, background, or literature review. They will probably mention other articles on similar topics. 
    • Contact your librarian for help. Contact information is on this page.

Tips for your Health Conditions Analysis papers: 

• For your journal article sources, search the databases listed on the main page of this libguide.
  • The START HERE box is a good place to start for both papers. 
    • Choose a database from that box, like CINAHL or MEDLINE. Click "Advanced Search" in the database.
    • Search for your condition, then add more search terms in the other boxes.
      • For example, let's say your condition is peripheral neuropathy. Search "peripheral neuropathy" in the first box. You'll get many results. If you see other ways to describe this condition (like "peripheral nervous system diseases") then add that to your search box if you want to include those items.
      • Then add another term to the next box. What do you want to know about peripheral neuropathy? Maybe how it affects ADLs? Then add "activities of daily living" OR ADLs to the next box, and search. Or you could search "comorbid" to see what conditions commonly occur along with your condition. Tweak this search based on what you need to learn about your condition. 
  • The Medical Databases box is more helpful for the physical condition.
    • DynaMed is a fantastic resource for this assignment. However, it would not count as one of your journal article sources. DynaMed's information is intended for healthcare practitioners to use at the point of care. It combines recommendations based on strong scientific evidence, but it's not a primary research source. 
    • MedlinePlus is also a good source, but would not count as a journal article source. It's intended to explain health conditions to patients and their families, not healthcare professionals. It would be a great source for your Resources for Additional Information section. 
  • The Psychology Databases box is more helpful for the mental health condition. 
• For definitions, background, symptoms, etc., start with reference books instead of journal articles. Reference books are better for these big-picture overviews. 
  • Mental health: the DSM-V-TR is the gold standard for mental health conditions. We have an ebook version here, or print copies at both Gainesville and Norcross.
  • Physical conditions: Black's Medical Dictionary or DynaMed (see main page Medical Databases box) are good starting points. 
• For prevalence and statistics, try searching government websites like the CDC Diseases & Conditions page. 

Still not finding what you need? Contact your librarian! Contact information is in the profile box on this page. 

Resources:

You'll need statistics about your community to show a need for your project. Use the Community Health tab above to find demographics, health assessments, and other statistics. There is a tutorial video at the top of that page.

You'll need empirical research showing evidence of why you think your project would work. Use the OT Databases and Journals tab (main page) to find scholarly research studies. There is a tutorial video at the top of that page. 

AOTA Ethics Resources

• AOTA resources and guidance for OT practitioners

Disability Laws

• Americans with Disabilities Act

• Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)

• More on IDEA

Privacy Laws

• Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA)

Medicare & Medicaid

• Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

• Medicare

• Medicaid

Licensure Laws & Regulations

• Issues in Licensure - AOTA

• Georgia Occupational Therapy Association

• Georgia State Board of Occupational Therapy

• Official Code of the State of Georgia

• State OT Associations

• State OT Licensure Boards

• State OT Statutes and Regulations - AOTA

• State Policy Resources and Factsheets - AOTA

• FindLaw Cases and Codes: State Resources

Clear Communication

• Plain Language to Communicate Physical Activity Information: A Website Content Analysis

• Clear Communication

• Health Literacy

• Plain Language

• Clear & Simple

• Cultural Respect

• Language Access

• Talking to Your Doctor

• Making Data Talk

Links on Health Literacy, Promotion, & Education

• Healthy People 2030

• Making Health Communications work

• Health Literacy Universal Precautions ToolKit

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

• Public health links from the American Public Health Association

• Health Literacy Website from Harvard School of Public Health

• Healthy Cities

• NIH- Health Information

• Community Toolbox

• Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide)

• Occupational Therapy and Complementary Health Approaches and Integrative Health

• Complementary, Alternative, or Integrative Health: What’s In a Name?

• Telehealth in Occupational Therapy

• Trainers Guide for Cancer Education (NIH--National Cancer Institute)

World Health Organization

• World Health Organization

• WHO Health Topics

• WHO Social Determinants of Health

• International Classification of Functioning, Disability, and Health

Health Statistics

• National Center for Health Statistics-population stats

• Website to gather GA statistics about various health problems

• LibGuide with more resources on population/community health statistics

AOTA Statements and Resources

• AOTA’s Societal Statement on Combat-Related Posttraumatic Stress

• AOTA's Societal Statement on Disaster Response and Risk Reduction

• AOTA’s Societal Statement on Health Disparities

• AOTA’s Societal Statement on Health Literacy

• AOTA’s Societal Statement on Livable Communities

• AOTA’s Statement on Stress and Stress Disorders

• AOTA’s Societal Statement on Youth Violence

• Occupational Therapy in the Promotion of Health and Well-Being

• Occupational Therapy’s Perspective on the Use of Environments and Contexts to Facilitate Health, Well-Being, and Participation in Occupations

• Obesity and Occupational Therapy

• Importance of Interprofessional Education in Occupational Therapy Curricula