LibGuides: Graduate Nursing: Acute Care

Primary Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index—with no embargo. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics including health administration, health professions, hospitals, insurance, law, statistics, business, management, personnel, and ethics.

Part of the Database Offerings from GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Health Source: Nursing / Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
MEDLINE with Full Text By EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
Medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Nursing and Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This database offers reliable, comprehensive coverage including journals, video, dissertations, reference books and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.

Point of Care EBP

Cochrane Library of Systematic Reviews, Clinical Answers, & Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library provides a collection of 6 databases that contain different types evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a 7th database that provides information about Cochrane groups. Cochrane Library includes over 1 million records of controlled trials, over 30,000 records of abstract and reviews of effect, and over 16,000 records of health technology assessments.
DynaMed This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is a clinical information resource that provides evidence-based information at the point of care.

U.S. Preventive Services Task Force An independent, volunteer panel of national experts in prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force makes evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services such as screenings, counseling services, and preventive medications. All recommendations are published on the Task Force’s Web site and/or in a peer-reviewed journal.

Journals

Web Sites

American Association of Critical Care Nurses Patients and their families rely on nurses at the most vulnerable times of their lives. Acute and critical care nurses rely on AACN for expert knowledge and the influence to fulfill their promise to patients and their families. AACN drives excellence because nothing less is acceptable.

Practice Guidelines

Hopkins Antibiotic Guidelines
Based on current literature reviews and Johns Hopkins’ faculty review. In addition to antibiotic recommendations, the guidelines also contain information about diagnosis and other useful management tips.
Adult-Gerontology Practice Guidelines
Emphasis is placed on history taking, on the physical examination, and on key elements of the aging population. The Guidelines are organized using a body- systems format. Includes disorders more commonly seen in the primary care setting.
Elderly Population - Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Provides objective, detailed information on clinical practice guidelines, and furthers their dissemination, implementation, and use in order to inform health care decisions.

Librarian

Emily Thornton

Email Me

Contact:

Norcross Campus, Room 448
OR
Gainesville Campus, Trustee Library

(770) 531-3165