LibGuides: Business Administration: Company & Industry Info

How to Find a Company's Annual Report

Choose a publicly held company! Privately owned companies generally don't publish the information you need. You can double-check their status on their Wikipedia page.
Google the company to find its official web site, or follow the link from its Wikipedia page. For example, if I want to find information on Tootsie Roll Industries, I search the company name. The first hit is http://www.tootsie.com/. So far, so good.
Find the company's annual report and other financial data. Check the very top or very bottom of the page. Look for words like:
- company information
- corporate
- about
- investors
- title of the company (as in Tootsie Roll Industries)
Look for a link to financial information, annual reports, SEC filings, etc. (http://www.tootsie.com/financials/)
Troubleshooting: the information you need can be hidden in the website. You may need to click through the links to find the information. Click the "site map" link on the company website to see a list of major pages.

Be selective when choosing a company. You will need to locate information and analysis on both the company and its industry.

Company & Industry Reports

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
In-depth data and analysis on individual companies. Very useful for BA507 company analysis assignments.
Mergent Online offers a wealth of textual detail on company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries officers and directors.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry-level data and analysis. Very useful for BA507 industry analysis assignments.
IBISWorld provides meticulously researched business information and market research on thousands of industries worldwide.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window Company and industry reports, scholarly, trade, and news articles on companies and industries.View the Video Tutorials for help
Scholarly, trade articles, business and industry reports; nearly 80% in full-text. Contains annual reports from nearly 1,000 leading North American companies, downloadable data sets from the Economic Intelligence Unit, market research reports, dissertations, business cases, and current news.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Click the Menu icon in the top left, then select Company Dossier
News, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Business Source Complete - Business Searching Interface This link opens in a new window Company and industry reports, scholarly, trade, and news articles on companies and industries.View the Video Tutorial for help
Aside from the ability to search and browse for articles in over 4000 business journals, the Interface allows for easy browsing of supplementary content such as, company profiles, country reports, industry profiles, market research reports, SWOT analyses, and author profiles. It contains popular business publications such as Business Week, Forbes, Harvard Business Review, and hundreds of other scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Hospitality & Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window Scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism, company and country reports
Hospitality & Tourism Complete™ contains nearly 950,000 records of scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. There is full text for more than 530 publications, including periodicals, company & country reports, and books.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

BA507 Tutorial

Tutorial for BA507
This tutorial is for BA507 Introduction to Business Communication. It will help you with the company and industry analysis assignments.

Need an Industry Code for Your Research?

NAICS - North American Industry Classification System

Finance & Investing

BigCharts: Stock Charts, Screeners, Interactive Charting and Research Tools
"...comprehensive and easy-to-use investment research Web site, providing access to professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary. These tools combine with a graphical interface and our intuitive navigation to make your research experience productive, entertaining and fun. Best of all, BigCharts is a free service..."
Bloomberg
Dow Jones Industrial Average Historical Timeline
FINRA - Investor Information - Market Data
Gap Inc GPS
Industries by Supersector and NAICS Code
International Markets - Markets Data Center - WSJ.com
Investopedia Financial Dictionary
MarketWatch - Stock Market Quotes, Business News, Financial News
Morningstar
NASDAQ
NYSE - New York Stock Exchange
U.S. Stocks - Market Data Center
Yahoo finance

Company Information Links

SEC Filings and Forms
ThomasRegister Thomas Register is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America.