LibGuides: Cultural Bases of Behavior PY620: Cultural Bases of Behavior

General Information on Your Countries

CultureGrams World Edition This link opens in a new window
CultureGrams provides country reports that go beyond mere facts and figures to deliver a one-of-a-kind perspective on daily life and culture, including the background, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people. The reports are written and reviewed by in-country experts and are updated as new information becomes available. World Edition-Cultural reports for more than 200 countries. Each include 25 categories such as Land and Climate, History, Personal Appearance, Greetings, Dating and Marriage, Family, Diet, Housing, Holidays, Economy, Education, Health, and more.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

BBC Country Profiles Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
CIA World Factbook Information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, demographic, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Country Profiles - Global Guide to Culture, Customs and Etiquette Key topics such as language, society, culture, food, beliefs, business practices and social etiquette.

Subject Specific Article Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals, this collection of scholarly trade and popular articles offers information on a broad range of important areas including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, ethnic & multicultural studies, law, mathematics, music, psychology, women's studies, and many other fields.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Child Development and Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Provides references to the current and historical literature related to growth and development of children through the age of 21.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print This link opens in a new window
Bibliography to all known commercially available tests currently in print in the English language
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window From the APA, includes full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
The database contains more than 158,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the APA, its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present; nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window articles from full-text journals covering topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, Human sexuality, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection™ contains full text for more than 560 journals covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window From the APA, the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. 98% is peer-reviewed. It also includes information about the psychological aspects of medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, technology, etc.
99% peer-reviewed journals. Selected by APA experts based on quality and relevance to the field, this is one of the most current resources available for behavioral and social science research.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Covers biological sciences, social sciences, business. Includes Population Studies, Statistics, Communicable Diseases, Allergology and Immunology, Biology - Genetics, Physical Fitness and Hygiene, Drug Abuse and Alcoholism, Environmental Studies

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sage Journals Premier This link opens in a new window
Covers the health sciences, the life sciences, the social sciences (anthropology, business, communication and media studies, cultural studies, education, gerontology, psychology) and the humanities (conflict resolution, gender studies, history, law, philosophy, politics and international relations).
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A leading full-text scientific database covering the life and health sciences.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window a definitive resource for those who need access to a variety of scientific journals. The database includes over 570 titles, with more than 340 available in full text.
Social Science Database provides extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, communication, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Sociological Collection This link opens in a new window
Information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture, and social structure.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library
Violence & Abuse Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Part of the Database Offerings in GALILEO, Georgia’s Virtual Library

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a resource when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text, View eBook, or View Now button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of an article when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Full Text button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate the full text of a book when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View eBook button.

Search the Brenau Trustee Library and More!
Enter a subject, title, or author

Type in keywords to search. To locate a video when all you have is its title, type its title into the box. Items available online will have a View Now button.

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of over 3,500 published reference works from more than 100 publishers in a variety of major subjects.

Cite Your Sources

Information has value. Respect the original ideas of others; give credit to others through proper attribution and citation.

Cite CultureGrams:

Argentina (Argentine Republic). (2015). In CultureGrams world edition. Retrieved from http://www.culturegrams.com/

Cite the CIA World Factbook:

Central Intelligence Agency. (2016). Brazil. In The world factbook. Retrieved from https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/br.html

Cite a web site:

Global Affairs Canada. (2011). Overview – Brazil. Retrieved from https://www.international.gc.ca/cil-cai/country_insights-apercus_pays/overview-apercu_br.aspx?lang=eng

Cultural Bases of Behavior PY620

Subject Guide

Need an Article

Psychology Guides

General Information on Your Countries

Subject Specific Article Databases

Got the Citation? Find the Resource

Cite Your Sources